You are here

IEEE Communications Society Distinguished Industry Leader Award

Plaque, certificate, and honorarium of $2,000.

To recognize an industry executive whose leadership has resulted in major and outstanding advances and new directions in the information and communications business area.

An information or communication industry executive who played a major leadership role in research or development and introduction of systems, devices, applications or services that have significantly impacted the communications and information markets on a global basis and substantially advanced the use of information and communication technologies in industry, commerce, and society. The candidate is not required to be an IEEE member.

Selection Criteria and Basis for Judging
Executive leadership resulting in major advances and new directions in the information and communications business area.  Evaluation is based on such factors as global acceptance of the products and services, financial success and growth of the business, ubiquity of the products and services, emulation of the contributions by competition, and degree of global recognition of the candidate.  Other factors include time of service, impact, specific innovations, etc.

Nomination/Selection Process
Nominations will be solicited each year, up to the nominations deadline decided by the Awards Committee.  Nominations will be openly solicited; however, nominations would also be received from a Nominations Committee appointed by the President of the Communication Society.

The award will be presented at a major Communication Society annual conference or venue appropriate to the business area of the recipient.  The award will not be conferred in any given year if a suitable candidate is not identified.  Annually (as appropriate); no more than two awards will be given per year.

Administration and Funding
The Communications Society will administer the award covered out of annual Society opera

(approved 2000)


2016- Jong-Kyun Shin
Paul Jacobs
Eros Spadotto
 No Award
Janusz Filipiak
           Niklas Zennström |
           Janus Friis

2011No Award
Suk-Chae Lee
2009Kaoru Yano
2008No Award
2007- Arun Sarin

2006- Henry Samueli
2005No Award 
2004- Ki Tae Lee 
           Irwin M. Jacobs