You are here

Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access for 5G Systems


IEEE JSAC Special Issue on Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access for 5G Systems

Non-orthogonal multiple access (NOMA) is an essential enabling technology for 5G wireless networks to meet the heterogeneous demands on low latency, high reliability, massive connectivity, and high throughput. The key idea of NOMA is to serve multiple users in the same bandwidth resource, such as time slots, subcarriers, or spreading codes. The NOMA concept forms a general framework, where recently proposed 5G multiple access schemes, such as power domain NOMA, sparse code multiple access (SCMA), bit division multiplexing, multi-user shared access (MUSA), interleave division multiple access (IDMA), lattice partition multiple access (LPMA), and pattern division multiple access (PDMA) can be viewed as special cases. Recent studies demonstrate that NOMA has the potential to be applied in various 5G scenarios, including machine-to-machine communications and the Internet of Things. Because of its superior spectral efficiency, NOMA has also been incorporated into 3GPP LTE Advanced recently, under the name “Multi-User Superposition Transmission”.

This special issue will provide a forum for the latest research and innovations in NOMA technologies as well as their applications, and will bridge the gap between theory and practice in the design of 5G multiple access. Prospective authors are invited to submit original manuscripts on topics including, but not limited to:

  • Fundamental limits and performance analysis of NOMA
  • Different variants of NOMA
  • Channel coding and modulation for NOMA
  • MIMO techniques for NOMA
  • Cognitive networking with NOMA
  • Security provisioning in NOMA
  • Cross-layer design and optimization for NOMA
  • Emerging applications of NOMA
  • Hardware implementations of NOMA

Submission Guidelines

Prospective authors are requested to submit their manuscripts following the IEEE JSAC guidelines at Authors should submit a PDF version of their complete manuscript to according to the following schedule:

Manuscript submission: January 13, 2017 Extended to January 27, 2017
Acceptance notifications: April 14, 2017
Final manuscript submission: May 5, 2017
Publication: Second Quarter, 2017

Guest Editors

Zhiguo Ding (Lead), Lancaster University,
George K. Karagiannidis, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki,
Jinhong Yuan, University of New South Wales,
Robert Schober, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg,
Vijay Bhargava, University of British Columbia,
Xianfu Lei, Southwest Jiaotong University,