You are here

Towards a New World of Cognitive and Agile Networks

Webcast Type: 
Keynote Session

Professor Khaled Ben Letaief
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Speaker Biography: Professor Letaief ( received the Ph.D. Degrees in Electrical Engineering from Purdue University, USA in 1990. From 1990 to 1993, he was a faculty member at the University of Melbourne, Australia. Since 1993, he has been with HKUST where he is currently the Dean of Engineering. He is Chair Professor of Electronic and Computer Engineering as well as the Director of the Hong Kong Telecom Institute of Information Technology.

Dr. Letaief is an acknowledged authority in the area of wireless and mobile communications. He served as consultants for different organizations and is the founding Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications. He has served on the editorial board of other prestigious journals including the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications - Wireless Series (as Editor-in-Chief). He has been involved in organizing a number of major international conferences and events. These include serving as the General Co-Chair of the 2007 IEEE Wireless Communications and Networking Conference, WCNC07, in Hong Kong; Technical Program Co-Chair of the 2008 IEEE International Conference on Communication, ICC08 in Beijing; and Vice General Chair of the 2010 IEEE International Conference on Communication, ICC’10, in Cape Town.

Dr. Letaief is a Fellow of IEEE. He served as an elected member of the IEEE Communications Society Board of Governors, and IEEE Distinguished lecturer. He also served as the Chair of the IEEE Communications Society Technical Committee on Wireless Communications, Chair of the Steering Committee of the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, and Chair of the 2008 IEEE Technical Activities/Member and Geographic Activities Visits Program. He is currently serving as member of both the IEEE Communications Society and IEEE Vehicular Technology Society Fellow Evaluation Committees, member of the IEEE Technical Activities Board/PSPB Products & Services Committee as well as Vice-President Elect for Conferences of the IEEE Communications Society.

He is the recipient of many distinguished awards including the 2007 IEEE Communications Society Publications Exemplary Award, 8 Best Paper Awards with the latest being the prestigious 2009 IEEE Marconi Prize Paper Award in Wireless Communications, as well as, the Michael G. Gale Medal for Distinguished Teaching (Highest university-wide teaching award at HKUST).

Webcast URL: 
Presentation Date: