Skip to main content

Published: 26 Apr 2022

Paper Awards

The IEEE Communications Society Paper Awards honors the contributions of members and individuals who advance communications technology through published papers in ComSoc sponsored or co-sponsored publications.

IEEE Communications Society Award for Advances in Communication

Ying-Chang Liang, Yonghong Zeng, Edward C.Y. Peh, and Anh Tuan Hoang

Sensing-Throughput Tradeoff for Cognitive Radio Networks,” IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, vol. 7, no. 4, pp. 1326-1337, April 2008.

IEEE Communications Society Best Survey Paper Award

Faheem Zafari, Athanasios Gkelias, and Kin K. Leung

A Survey of Indoor Localization Systems and Technologies,” IEEE Communications Surveys & Tutorials, vol. 21, no. 3, pp. 2568-2599, Third Quarter 2019.

IEEE Communications Society Best Tutorial Paper Award

Angela Sara Cacciapuoti, Marcello Caleffi, Rodney Van Meter, and Lajos Hanzo

When Entanglement Meets Classical Communications: Quantum Teleportation for the Quantum Internet,” IEEE Transactions on Communications, vol. 68, no. 6, pp. 3808-3833, June 2020.

IEEE Communications Society Fred W. Ellersick Prize

Zhijin Qin, Hao Ye, Geoffrey Ye Li, and Biing-Hwang (Fred) Juang

Deep Learning in Physical Layer Communications,” IEEE Wireless Communications, vol. 26, no. 2, pp. 93-99, April 2019.

Walid Saad, Mehdi Bennis, and Mingzhe Chen

A Vision of 6G Wireless Systems: Applications, Trends, Technologies, and Open Research Problems,” IEEE Network, vol. 34, no. 3, pp. 134-142, May 2020.

IEEE Communications Society Heinrich Hertz Award for Best Communications Letter

Beixiong Zheng and Rui Zhang

Intelligent Reflecting Surface-Enhanced OFDM: Channel Estimation and Reflection Optimization,” IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, vol. 9, no. 4, pp. 518-522, April 2020.

Zhen-Qing He and Xiaojun Yuan

Cascaded Channel Estimation for Large Intelligent Metasurface Assisted Massive MIMO,” IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, vol. 9, no. 2, pp. 210-214, February 2020.

IEEE Communications Society Leonard G. Abraham Prize

Cunhua Pan, Hong Ren, Kezhi Wang, Maged Elkashlan, Arumugam Nallanathan, Jiangzhou Wang, and Lajos Hanzo

Intelligent Reflecting Surface Aided MIMO Broadcasting for Simultaneous Wireless Information and Power Transfer,” IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications, vol. 38, no. 8, pp. 1719-1734, August 2020.

IEEE Communications Society Outstanding Paper Award

Marco Di Renzo, Konstantinos Ntontin, Jian Song, Fadil Habibi Danufane, Xuewen Qian, Fotis I. Lazarakis, Julien de Rosny, Dinh-Thuy Phan-Huy, Osvaldo Simeone, Rui Zhang, Mérouane Debbah, Geoffroy Lerosey, Mathias Fink, Sergei A. Tretyakov, and Shlomo Shamai (Shitz)

Reconfigurable Intelligent Surfaces vs. Relaying: Differences, Similarities, and Performance Comparison,” IEEE Open Journal of the Communications Society, vol. 1, pp. 798-807, June 2020.

IEEE Communications Society Stephen O. Rice Prize

Yan Sun, Dongfang Xu, Derrick Wing Kwan Ng, Linglong Dai, and Robert Schober

Optimal 3D-Trajectory Design and Resource Allocation for Solar-Powered UAV Communication Systems,” IEEE Transactions on Communications, vol. 67, no. 6, pp. 4281-4298, June 2019.

IEEE Communications Society Young Author Best Paper Award

Shuowen Zhang, Yong Zeng, and Rui Zhang

Cellular-Enabled UAV Communication: A Connectivity-Constrained Trajectory Optimization Perspective,” IEEE Transactions on Communications, vol. 67, no. 3, pp. 2580-2604, March 2019.

Mohammad Mohammadi Amiri and Deniz Gündüz

Federated Learning Over Wireless Fading Channels,” IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, vol. 19, no. 5, pp. 3546-3557, May 2020.

IEEE Marconi Prize Paper Award in Wireless Communications

Emil Björnson and Luca Sanguinetti

Making Cell-Free Massive MIMO Competitive with MMSE Processing and Centralized Implementation”, IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, vol. 19, no. 1, pp.77-90, January 2020.