Skip to main content
abstract blue background

About ComSoc

Certificate, plaque and honorarium of US$1,000.

No restrictions.

Basis for Judging
Major contributions to public welfare through work in the field of telecommunications.

Annually (as soon as possible after recommendation). The award may not be presented if a suitable candidate is not available.

Nominations due 1 September unless otherwise noted.


2020 Award Recipient

For leadership and contributions to the public-private service for the world's first 5G commercialization

Dong Ku Kim, Yonsei University, South Korea
Dong Ku Kim, Yonsei University, South Korea

Dong Ku Kim received his Ph.D. from the University of Southern California, Los Angeles, in 1992. He worked on CDMA systems in the cellular infrastructure group of Motorola at Fort Worth, Texas. He has been a professor at the School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Yonsei University, since 1994. He was a founding chair of the 5G Forum in 2013 and engaged in it since then. 5G Forum is a think-tank for 5G Globalization, 5G commercialization, SME promotion, 5G vertical trial and promotion, and future technologies. He is a chair of the executive committee of the 5G Forum and also a member of the 5G+ strategy committee chaired by the minister of the Ministry of Science and ICT. He was a vice president of KICS (a sister institute of IEE ComSoc). He is a senior member of IEEE. He received the Yellow Stripes of the Order of Service Merit from the Korean government for the contribution of the world's first commercialization of 5G, ecosystem creation, and the defusion of convergence among 5G-based industries in April 2020. He is a recipient of  Dr. Irwin Jacobs Academic Achievement Award in 2016 from Qualcomm and KICS. He also received the Award of Excellence in the leadership of 100 Leading Technologies for Korea 2020 from the National Academy of Engineering of Korea in Dec. 2013. His current research interests are 5G mobile communication systems, full-duplex MIMO in vehicular use cases, tactile internet, and 5G-V2X technologies using lens-based MIMO.


2018-2019 - No Award
2017 - Arnold Ph. Djiwatampu
2016 - Werner Mohr 
No Award
2013 - Michael J. Marcus 
- Veena Rawat
2011 - Sasi P Meethal
2010 No Award
2009 - David Falconer
2008 No Award 
2007 - Sam Pitroda 
2001-2006 - No Award
2000 - David D. Clark
1994-1999 - No Award
1993 - George E. Brown, Jr.

1992 - Mansoor Shafi
1991 No Award
1990 - Richard C. Kirby
1988-1989 - No Award
1987 - Hubert Zimmerman 
1985-1986 - No Award
1984 - Mohammed Mili
1983 No Award
1982 - Joseph R. Fogarty
1981 - Henry Geller
1979-1980 No Award
1978 - Alphonse Ouimet
1977 - Benjamin L. Hooks
1976 - Senator J.O. Pastore