Skip to main content
abstract blue background

About ComSoc

This award is named in honor of Edwin H. Armstrong, most notably the inventor and father of the complete FM radio system. He is responsible for the Regenerative Circuit, the Superheterodyne Circuit, and the Superregenerative Circuit. Armstrong’s inventions and development form the backbone of Radio Communications as we know it. A contemporary, in writing about Armstrong’s life and achievements, refers to him as the "Man of High Fidelity." His life is documented in a book justly called "Empire of the Air."

This award was first presented in 1958 as the Achievement Award. It was changed to its present title in 1975.

Certificate, plaque, and an honorarium of US$2,000, funded by the IEEE Foundation.

Must be a member of the IEEE Communications Society.

Basis for Judging
Demonstrates outstanding contributions over a period of years in the field of interest of the Society.

Annually (as soon as possible after recommendation). The award may not be presented if a suitable candidate is not available.

Nominations due 1 September unless otherwise noted.

2018 Award Recipient

For pioneering contributions to wireless channel measurement and modeling and spectrally efficient wireless transmission techniques.”

Andreas F. Molisch
Andreas F. Molisch

Andreas F. Molisch is Professor and Solomon-Golomb – Andrew-and-Erna-Viterbi Chair at the University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA.  Before joining USC, he was with AT&T (Bell) Laboratories Research (USA); Lund University, Lund, Sweden, and Mitsubishi Electric Research Labs (USA). He has been doing research on wireless propagation channel measurement and modeling, hybrid beamforming and antenna-selection-based MIMO transceivers, and wireless video distribution;  as well as ultrawideband communications and localization, base station cooperation (CoMP), and high-efficiency modulation methods. He has authored, coauthored, or edited four books (among them the textbook Wireless Communications, Wiley-IEEE Press), 19 book chapters, more than 220  journal papers,  330 conference papers, as well as more than 80 patents; many of his inventions have been adopted into international standards.

Dr. Molisch is a Fellow of the IEEE, the National Academy of Inventors, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the Institute of Engineering and Technology, and a Member of the Austrian Academy of Sciences. Other honors include the Eric Sumner Award of the IEEE, the IET Achievement Medal, the James Evans Avant-Garde Award of the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society, the Neal Shephard Memorial Award of VTS, the Donald G. Fink award of the IEEE, and the Wireless Educator of the Year award from the Global Wireless Education Consortium.

Dr. Molisch has served IEEE in a variety of roles, including Chair of the Radio Communications Committee, Area Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, Division Editor for the Journal of Communications and Networking, Guest Editor for the Proceedings of the IEEE and IEEE JSAC, as well General Chair, Technical Program Committee Chair, or Symposium Chair of multiple international conferences. He has also been Chairman of various international standardization groups.


2017 - Muriel Medard
2016 - Moe Z. Win 
2015 - Theodore S. Rappaport
2014 - Andrea Goldsmith
2013 - John M. Cioffi 
2012 - 
Donald Cox
2011 - No Award
2010 - No Award
2009 - H. Vincent Poor
2008 - Sergio Benedetto
2007 - Norman C. Beaulieu
2006 - Larry J. Greenstein
2005 - No Award
2004 - Hussein Mouftah
2003 - Hikmet Sari
2002 - Michael B. Pursley
2001 - Ezio Biglieri
2000 - Laurence B. Milstein
1999 - Al Gross
1998 - Donald L. Schilling 
1997 - Marvin K. Simon
1996 - Joachim Hagenauer
1995 - Adam Lender
1994 - Mischa Schwartz 
1993 - Paul Schumate
1992 - Hisashi Kaneko
1991 - Burton R. Saltzberg
1990 - Jack K. Wolf
1989 - Paul E. Green, Jr. 
1988 - Jack M. Sipress

1987 - Paul Baran
1986 - Gottfried Ungerboeck
1985 - Robert Charles Terreault 
1984 - Bob O. Evans
1983 - No Award
1982 - Tadahiro Sekimoto
1981 - Robert Price
1980 - Frederick T. Andrews
1979 - Arthur A. Collins
1978 - Andre Pinet 
1977 - William H.C. Higgins
1976 - Walter B. Morrow
1975 - R.W. Lucky
1974 - Frank D. Reese
1973 - S.G. Lutz, C.E. Shannon
1972 - A.E. Joel, Jr.
1971 - A.C. Dickieson
1970 - R.K. Hellmann 
1969 - D.S. Rau
1968 - P.G. Edwards
1967 - J.Z. Millar
1966 - W.T. Rea
1965 - A.G. Kanoian
1964 - No Award
1963 - I.S. Coggeshall
1962 - A.G. Clavier
1961 - E.I. Green
1960 - No Award 
1959 - K. Bullington
1958 - H.H. Beverage