Skip to main content
abstract blue background

About ComSoc

This award is named in honor of electrical engineer and physicist Sir Chales Chao, who pioneered the development and use of fiber optics in telecommunications. The award recognizes the best paper published in the IEEE/OSA Journal of Optical Communications and Networking.

Plaque and honorarium of US$500 per author (up to a maximum total of US$2,000). If there are more than four authors, the maximum of US$2,000 would be split between each author.

Award to recognize the best paper published in the IEEE/OSA Journal of Optical Communications and Networking.

This award will be given to papers published in the IEEE/OSA Journal of Optical Communications and Networking (JOCN) that open new lines of research, envision bold approaches to optical communication and networking, formulate new problems to solve, and essentially enlarge the field of optical communications and networking. Papers published in the prior three calendar years of JOCN are eligible for the award. The author(s) need not be an IEEE member.

Basis for Judging
Quality, exposition, novelty, and impact.

Nominee Solicitation
Nominations will be solicited by the Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE/OSA Journal of Optical Communications and Networking from the Editorial Board. Each associate editor may submit no more than one paper to the Editor-in-Chief for consideration. Nominations will also be solicited from ComSoc Technical Committee chairs and readership (through published notices).

Selection Process
A sub-committee comprised of the Editor-in-Chief and five Associate Editors will screen the nominated papers. Selection will be based on rankings given to each nominated paper by each member of the sub-committee. Each paper submitted to the Awards Committee will be accompanied by a summary statement. The selection process complies with procedures and regulations established in IEEE and IEEE Communications Society governing documents, in particular with IEEE Policy 4.4 on Award Limitations.

Awards Committee
The IEEE Communications Society Awards Committee will be responsible for the final selection. The committee consists of a chair (appointed by the president for a two-year term) and at least 12 members (appointed by the chair for a three-year term).

No more than five manuscripts will be submitted to the IEEE Communications Society Awards Committee for final selection by February 15 of each year.

Annually. If in any year no eligible paper is deemed to be of sufficient quality, no award will be given.

Administration and Funding
The IEEE Communications Society will administer the award covered in part by an endowment established by the IEEE Foundation and the remainder out of annual Society operating expenses. The Society's budget includes the amount of this award and the Society budget is net positive with the inclusion of the award.

The winner is announced at the IEEE ICC conference. The winner can choose to receive the award at IEEE ICC, IEEE GLOBECOM, or OFC.

The award and recipients’ names will be published in IEEE Communications Magazine and posted on the IEEE Communications Society website.

Nominations due 15 February unless otherwise noted.


2024 Award Recipients

No Award



2023 - No Award

2022 - No Award

Cyriel Minkenberg, Nathan Farrington, Aaron Zilkie, David Nelson, Caroline P. Lai, Dan Brunina, Jerry Byrd, Bhaskar Chowdhuri, Nick Kucharewski, Karl Muth, Amit Nagra, German Rodriguez, David Rubi, Thomas Schrans, Pradeep Srinivasan, Yeong Wang, Chiang Yeh, and Andrew Rickman
"Reimagining Datacenter Topologies With Integrated Silicon Photonics," IEEE/OSA Journal of Optical Communications and Networking, Vol. 10, No. 7, pp. 126-139, July 2018.

Cristina Rottondi, Luca Barletta, Alessandro Giusti, Massimo Tornatore
Machine-Learning Method for Quality of Transmission Prediction of Unestablished Lightpaths”, IEEE/OSA Journal of Optical Communications and Networking, Vol. 10, No. 2, pp. A286-297, February 2018.

Jordi Perelló, Joan M. Gené, Albert Pagès, Jose A. Lazaro, Salvatore Spadaro
"Flex-Grid/SDM Backbone Network Design with Inter-Core XT-Limited Transmission Reach"IEEE/OSA Journal of Optical Communications and Networking, Vol.8, Issue: 8, pp. 540-552, August 2016.

Divya Chitimalla, Koteswararao Kondepu, Luca Valcarenghi, Massimo Tornatore, Biswanath Mukherjee
“5G Fronthaul–Latency and Jitter Studies of CPRI Over Ethernet, IEEE/OSA Journal of Optical Communications and Networking, Vol. 9, No. 2, pp. 172-182, February 2017.

Nicola Sambo, Antonio D’Errico, Claudio Porzi, Valeria Vercesi, Muhammad Imran, Filippo Cugini, Antonella Bogoni, Luca Potì, Pietro Castoldi
“Sliceable Transponder Architecture Including Multiwavelength Source, IEEE/OSA Journal of Optical Communications and Networking, Vol. 6, No. 7, pp. 590 - 600, July 2014.

Mayur Channegowda, Reza Nejabati, Dimitra Simeonidou
“Software-Defined Optical Networks Technology and Infrastructure: Enabling Software-Defined Optical Network Operations [Invited]”IEEE/OSA Journal of Optical Communications and Networking, Volume 5, No. 10, pp. A274-A282, October 2013.  

D. Hillerkuss, R. Schmogrow, M. Meyer, S. Wolf, M. Jordan, P. Kleinow, N. Lindenmann, P. C. Schindler, A. Melikyan, X. Yang, S. Ben-Ezra, B. Nebendahl, M. Dreschmann, J. Meyer, F. Parmigiani, P. Petropoulos, B. Resan, A. Oehler, K. Weingarten, L. Altenhain, T. Ellermeyer, M. Moeller, M. Huebner, J. Becker, C. Koos, W. Freude, J. Leuthold
“Single-laser 32.5 Tbit/s Nyquist WDM Transmission”IEEE/OSA Journal of Optical Communications and Networking, Volume 4, No. 10, October 2012, pp. 715-723.