Skip to main content
abstract blue background

About ComSoc

This award is named in honor of German physicist Heinrich Hertz, who was the first to conclusively prove the existence of the electromagnetic waves predicted by James Clerk Maxwell’s equations of electromagnetism. The cycle-per-second unit of frequency known as “hertz” was named in his honor. The award recognizes outstanding letters published in any letter journal financially sponsored or co-sponsored by ComSoc.

Plaque and honorarium of US$500 per author (up to a maximum total of US$2000). Maximum number of awards will be two (up to two papers per year), but only if a suitable number of recipients are identified.

Letters published in any letter journal financially sponsored or co-sponsored by the IEEE Communications Society which open new lines of research, envision bold approaches to communication, formulate new problems to solve, and essentially enlarge the field of communications engineering are eligible for this annual award.

This award is given to an outstanding manuscript published in any letter journal financially sponsored or co-sponsored by the IEEE Communications Society during the previous three calendar years which opens new lines of research, envisions bold approaches to communication, formulates new problems to solve, and essentially enlarges the field of communications engineering. Recipients need not be IEEE members.

Basis for Judging
Quality, exposition, novelty, and impact.

Nominee Solicitation
Nominations will be solicited by the Editor-in-Chief of the letter journal from the Editorial Board. Each associate editor may submit no more than one paper to the Editor-in-Chief for consideration. A sub-committee comprised of the Editor-in-Chief and five Associate Editors will screen the nominated papers. Nominations will also be solicited from ComSoc Technical Committee chairs and readership (through published notices).

No more than five manuscripts will be submitted to the Awards Committee for final selection by March 1 of each year.  Selection will be based on rankings given to each nominated paper by each member of the sub-committee.  Each paper submitted to the Awards Committee will be accompanied by a summary statement.

The IEEE Communications Society will administer the award covered out of the Society’s annual operating budget until a suitable endowment is established.  Each recipient receives an honorarium of $500, up to a maximum of $2000 (plus the minimal cost of plaques) and will be budgeted annually to cover the total cost of up to $2000 per year.

Annually, at the IEEE International Conference on Communications (IEEE ICC) or IEEE GLOBECOM. If in any year no eligible letter is deemed to be of sufficient quality, no award will be given.

Nominations due 15 February unless otherwise noted.


2024 Award Recipients

Jiaqi Xu, Yuanwei Liu, Xidong Mu and Octavia A. Dobre

"STAR-RISs: Simultaneous Transmitting and Reflecting Reconfigurable Intelligent Surfaces," IEEE Communications Letters, vol. 25, no. 9, pp. 3134-3138, September 2021.



Hyesung Kim, Jihong Park, Mehdi Bennis, and Seong-Lyun Kim
Blockchained On-Device Federated Learning,” IEEE Communications Letters, vol. 24, no.6, pp. 1279-1283, June 2020.

Shaoqing Zhou, Wei Xu, Kezhi Wang, Marco Di Renzo, and Mohamed-Slim Alouini
Spectral and Energy Efficiency of IRS-Assisted MISO Communication with Hardware Impairments,” IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, vol. 9, no. 9, pp. 1366-1369, September 2020.

Beixiong Zheng and Rui Zhang
Intelligent Reflecting Surface-Enhanced OFDM: Channel Estimation and Reflection Optimization,” IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, vol. 9, no. 4, pp. 518-522, April 2020.

Zhen-Qing He and Xiaojun Yuan
Cascaded Channel Estimation for Large Intelligent Metasurface Assisted Massive MIMO,” IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, vol. 9, no. 2, pp. 210-214, February 2020.

Guan Gui, Hikmet Sari, and Ezio Biglieri
"A New Definition of Fairness for Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access," IEEE Communications Letters, Vol. 23, No. 7, pp. 1267-1271, July 2019.

Shuhang Zhang, Hongliang Zhang, Qichen He, Kaigui Bian, and Lingyang Song
"Joint Trajectory and Power Optimization for UAV Relay Networks," IEEE Communications Letters, Vol. 22, No. 1, pp. 161-164, January 2018.

Jiangbin Lyu, Yong Zeng, Rui Zhang, Teng Joon Lim
Placement Optimization of UAV-Mounted Mobile Base Stations”, IEEE Communications Letters, Vol. 21, No. 3, pp 604-607, March 2017.

Orestis Georgiou, Usman Raza
"Low Power Wide Area Network Analysis: Can LoRa Scale?"IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, Vol. 6, Issue: 2, pp. 162-165, April 2017.

Zhiguo Ding, Mugen Peng, H. Vincent Poor
“Cooperative Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access in 5G Systems”, IEEE Communications Letters, Vol. 19, No.8, pp. 1462-1465, August 2015.

Yong Zeng, Rui Zhang
“Full-Duplex Wireless-Powered Relay With Self-Energy Recycling”IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, Vol. 4, No.2, pp. 201-204, April 2015.

Harpreet S. Dhillon, Jeffrey G. Andrews
“Downlink Rate Distribution in Heterogeneous Cellular Networks under Generalized Cell Selection”IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, Volume 3, No. 1, pp. 42-45, February 2014.

Tiangao Gou, Syed A. Jafar
Optimal Use of Current and Outdated Channel State Information -- Degrees of Freedom of the MISO BC with Mixed CSIT”IEEE Communications Letters, Vol. 16, No. 7, July 2012, pp. 1084-1087.

Liping Luo, Ping Zhang, Guangchi Zhang, Jiayin Qin
“Outage Performance for Cognitive Relay Networks with Underlay Spectrum Sharing,”IEEE Communications Letters, Vol. 15, No. 7, July 2011, pp. 710-712.  

Jingge Zhu, Jianhua Mo, Meixia Tao
"Cooperative Secret Communication with Artificial Noise in Symmetric Interference Channel," IEEE Communications Letters, Vol. 14, No. 10, October 2010, pp.885-887.   

Shafayat Abrar, Asoke K. Nandi
"Adaptive Minimum Entropy Equalization Algorithm," IEEE Communications Letters, Vol. 14, No.10, October 2010, pp. 966-968.  

Illsoo Sohn, Jeffrey G. Andrews
"Approaching Large-System Limits Faster in Multiuser MIMO with Adaptive Channel Feedback Adjustments," IEEE Communications Letters, Vol. 14, No. 12, pp. 1125-1127, December 2010

Jaap van de Beek, Fredrik Berggren
"N-continuous OFDM", IEEE Communications Letters, Vol. 13, No. 1, pp. 1-3, January 2009