Skip to main content
abstract blue background

About ComSoc

This award for outstanding long-term service was first presented in 1976 as the IEEE Communication Society Meritorious Service Award. It was renamed the Donald W. McLellan Meritorious Service Award after his untimely death in 1978. During his career, Don served as a model for personal service to the IEEE and to the profession. He was also widely known as an authority on induced noise and mitigation and was dedicated to the idea that all interference and noise problems are amenable to a technical solution.

Certificate, plaque, and an honorarium of US$1,000; up to two awards per year.

Must be a member of the IEEE Communications Society.

Basis for Judging
Outstanding long-term service to the welfare of the IEEE Communications Society.

Annually (as soon as possible after recommendation). The award may not be presented if a suitable candidate is not available.

Nominations due 1 September unless otherwise noted.


2020 Award Recipient

For outstanding service to the IEEE Communications Society

Michael Kincaid, MSK & Associate
Michael Kincaid, MSK & Associate

Organized, chaired and presented papers at major IEEE conferences since 1978. Chair of IEEE Communications Society’s Globecom/ICC Management and Strategy Committee (GIMS) 2006-2007. Comsoc’s liaison to Milcom 2006-2007. Former Chair of TAOS and active member in three other TCs 1978-2014.  BoG MAL 1998-2000. Core Team for Wireless Certification (WCET) 2008-2010.

Voting member of M&C Board 2000-2007.  Member of Tactical Communications and Operations TC 2006-2010.

Member of Globecom EXPO Working Group. Education Board Member 2010-2012. Awards committee member and Chair 1999-2005. Strategic Planning Committee member 2002-2003.

Wireline Transmission TC, Transmission Access and Optical Systems Committee member from 1975 thru 2014 (Secretary, Vice Chair, Chair). Situation Management Organizing Committee, Treasurer (CogSIMA) 2006-2010. Member Comsoc Boards (GICB, GIMS since 1998) Chair of GIMS 2006-2007. CNOM member 1985-1990. NOMS Organizing Committee 1988-1990. Board of Governors MAL 1998-2000. Technical Committee Recertification voting member 1998-2000.


2017-2019 - No Award
2016 - Raouf Boutaba
2014-2015 - No Award
2013 - Byeong Gi Lee 
- Sergio Benedetto
2011 - Stefano Galli
2010 - Leonard J. Cimini, Jr
2009 - Nim K. Cheung
2008 - Shri Goyal
2007 - Roberto Saracco
2006 - Alexander D. Gelman
2005 - Mark J. Karol
2004 - Harvey A Freeman
2000 - Douglas N. Zuckerman
1998 - Roberto de Marca 
1997 - Curtis A. Siller
1996 No Award
1995 - Thomas J. Plevyak
1994 - Raymond L. Pickholtz

1993 - Joseph L LoCicero
1992 - Frederick T. Andrews
1991 - Celia Desmond and Jack C. McDonald
1990 - Richard P. Skillen 
1989 - William H. Tranter 
1988 - Richard A. Alston and John Limb
1987 - Noriyoshi Kuroyanagi
1986 - Paul E. Green Jr. and John S. Ryan
1985 - M.R. Aaron and Bruce DeMaeyer
1984 No Award
1983 - Allen Gersho, Adam Lender, and Stephen Weinstein
1982 - William W. Middleton and Walter B. Noller
1981 - Richard L. Shuey and Edward J. Doyle
1980 - Edward J. Glenner
1979 - Richard Kirby
1978 - Donald L. Schilling
1977 - David Solomon
1976 - Ran Slayton and Anthony B. Giordano