Skip to main content
abstract blue background

About ComSoc

Certificate, plaque, and an honorarium of US$1,000.

Basis for Judging
Exemplary service to the IEEE Communications Society meetings and conferences over a sustained period of time.

Annually (as appropriate)

Nominations due 1 September unless otherwise noted.

2019 Award Recipient

"For outstanding conference services as Technical Program Co-Chair for IEEE ICC’08, ICCC’12, and DySPAN’18, Workshop Co-Chair for WCNC’18, Panel Co-Chair for WCNC’10, and Tutorial Co-chair for Globecom’12."

Zhisheng Niu, Tsinghua University
Zhisheng Niu, Tsinghua University

Zhisheng Niu (F’12) graduated from Beijing Jiaotong University in 1985 and received his PhD degree from Toyohashi University of Technology, Japan, in 1992.  After working two years at Fujitsu Laboratories, Japan, he joined with Tsinghua University, China, in 1994 and currently is a professor. He visited Hitachi Central Research Laboratory in 1997-1998 and served as deputy dean of School of Information Science and Technology in 2004-2016. He won the Outstanding Young Researcher Award from Nature Science Foundation of China in 2009, Okawa Foundation Research Grant of Japan, in 2012, Best Paper Award from IEEE ComSoc Asia-Pacific Board in 2013, and Distinguished Technical Achievement Recognition Award from IEEE ComSoc Green Communications and Computing Technical Committee in 2018.  He was a distinguished lecturer of both IEEE Communication Society (2012-15) and IEEE Vehicular Technologies Society (2014-18). He is a fellow of IEICE-Japan (2007) and IEEE (2012).

Professor Niu has devoted his time and energy to ComSoc as Beijing Chapter Chair (2001-08), Director of Asia-Pacific Region (2008-09), Editor of IEEE Wireless Communications (2009-13), Director of Conference Publications (2010-11), Chair of Emerging Technology Committee (2014-15), and currently as area editor of IEEE Trans. Green Comm. & Networking and Director of Online Contents.


2018 - Xuemin (Sherman) Shen
2017 - Chengshan Xiao
2016 - Merrily W. Hartmann 
2015 - Mehmet Ulema
2014 - Stefano Bregni
2013 - Gerhard Fettweis 
2012 - Hikmet Sari
2011 - Khaled B. Letaief
2010 - Abbas Jamalipour
2009 - Heinrich Stüttgen

2008 - Roberto de Marca
2007 - Raouf Boutaba
2006 - Paul R. Hartmann
2005 - Jaafar M.H. Elmirghani 
2004 - No Award
2003 - Doug Lattner 
2002 - Douglas N. Zuckerman
2001 - Harvey A. Freeman
2000 - Ross C. Anderson