Skip to main content
abstract blue background

About ComSoc

Certificate, plaque, and an honorarium of US$1,000.

A Society member at time of nomination who has been involved with one or more of the Society’s publications (e.g., journals, magazines; print or electronic) for a sustained period of time and having made notable contributions in areas such as editing, publishing or otherwise facilitating their realization, quality, scope or visibility.

Basis for Judging
Exemplary service to IEEE Communications Society publications over a sustained period of time.

Annually (as appropriate)

Nominations due 1 September unless otherwise noted.

Joseph LoCicero
Joseph L. LoCicero

Joseph L. LoCicero was born on September 18, 1947 in the Borough of The Bronx, New York City, New York, USA. He received his academic training at the City College of New York (BSEE 1970 and MSEE 1971) and the City University of New York (Ph.D. 1977). He performed his doctoral thesis research under Donald L. Schilling. Upon receipt of his doctoral degree he joined Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT) as a faculty member in what is now the Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) Department, where he served for over 30 years as Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, Professor, and Motorola Chair Professor, as well as undertaking the position of Acting Chair of the ECE Department for two years. He was one of the co-founders of the Wireless Network and Communications (WiNCom) Research Center.While at IIT, Dr. LoCicero worked on problems in signal processing and communications, focusing particularly in the areas of speech processing, video systems, and wireless communications. He specialized in low bit rate voice, computer generated holography for photonic switching, pitch detection, automatic speech recognition, and nonlinear power amplifiers, among other research topics. 

He authored more than ninety technical articles, three book chapters, and co-edited Tutorial in Modern Communications and the IEEE Press Book Television Technology Today. Dr. LoCicero was advisor to many doctoral students and several students who received the Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree under his guidance.

2021 Award Recipient

Jeffrey Andrews

For outstanding leadership of the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications

Jeffrey Andrews
Jeffrey Andrews, University of Texas at Austin

Jeffrey Andrews received the B.S. in Engineering with High Distinction from Harvey Mudd College, and the M.S. and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University.  He is the Cockrell Family Endowed Chair in Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin where is Director of 6G@UT.  He was the Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications from 2014-2016, and is the founding Chair of the Steering Committee for the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Information Theory, and the Chair of the IEEE Communication Theory Technical Committee (2021-22).  

Dr. Andrews is an IEEE Fellow and ISI Highly Cited Researcher and has been co-recipient of 15 best paper awards including the 2016 IEEE Communications Society & Information Theory Society Joint Paper Award, the 2014 IEEE Stephen O. Rice Prize, the 2014 and 2018 IEEE Leonard G. Abraham Prize, the 2011 and 2016 IEEE Heinrich Hertz Prize, and the 2010 IEEE ComSoc Best Tutorial Paper Award.  His other major awards include the 2015 Terman Award, the NSF CAREER Award, the 2021 Gordon Lepley Memorial Teaching Award, the 2021 IEEE ComSoc Joe LoCicero Service Award, and the 2019 IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu technical field award.


2020 - Michele Zorzi
2019 - Dong In Kim
2018 - Robert Schober
2017 - Sarah Kate Wilson
2016 - Leonard J. Cimini Jr. 
2015 - Xuemin (Sherman) Shen
2014 - Chengshan Xiao
2013 - David Daut 
2012 - Nelson Fonseca
2011 - Vijay Bhargava
2010 - Larry Greenstein

2009 - Raouf Boutaba 
2008 - Andrzej Jajszczyk
2007 - Khaled Ben Letaief
2006 - James F. Kurose
2005 - Yeheskel (Zeke) Bar-Ness 
2004 - Desmond P. Taylor 
2003 - No Award
2002 - Curtis Siller
2001 - Bill Tranter
2000 - No Award
1999 - Joseph L. LoCicero
1998 - Paul Green