Skip to main content
abstract blue background

About ComSoc

This award is present annually by the IEEE Communications Society and The Korean Institute of Communications and Information Sciences (KICS) for exemplary and distinguished service in globalization.

Plaque, certificate, and an honorarium of US$2,000 and up to US$1,500 for travel to receive the award.

Recipient must be a member of ComSoc or KICS at the time of nomination.

Basis for Judging
Outstanding and long-term service fostering and advancing globalization within the communications arena.

Nomination/Selection Process
ComSoc Awards Committee will handle the evaluation and selection process. Nominations will be solicited each year, up to the nominations deadline decided by the Awards Committee.

The award will be presented annually (as appropriate) by the presidents of both societies during IEEE GLOBECOM. The award will not be conferred in any given year if a suitable candidate is not identified.

Administration and Funding
KICS will provide the honorarium and partial travel support; ComSoc will provide the plaque and certificate.

Nominations due 1 September unless otherwise noted.


2023 Award Recipient

No Award



2022 - Ana Garcia Armada
2021 - No Award
2020 - No Award
2019 - Stefano Bregni
2018 - No Award
2017 - Byeong Gi Lee
2015-2016 - No Award

2014 - Lin-shan Lee
2012-2013 - No Award
2011 - J. Roberto Boisson de Marca
2010 - Roberto Saracco
2009 - Tomonori Aoyama
2008 - Maurizio Decina
2007 - Stephen B. Weinstein