Skip to main content
abstract blue background

About ComSoc

2021 IEEE Communications Society Election Results

The 2021 IEEE ComSoc Election results are in! A total of 6,052 ballots were returned to IEEE for election of IEEE Communications Society Vice President-Conferences, Vice President-Member & Global Activities, Vice President-Publications, Vice President-Technical & Educational Activities, and four Members-at-Large to the Board of Governors for the term beginning 1 January 2022.


Vice Presidents

Conferences Member & Global Activities Publications Technical & Educational Activities

Nelson Fonseca
(1,911 votes)*

Mark Karol
(1,198 votes)

Wai-Choong (Lawrence) Wong
(728 votes)

Jinsong Wu
(1,469 votes)

Ana Garcia Armada
(3,343 votes)*

Ricardo A. Veiga
(1,603 votes)




Chengshan Xiao
(2,895 votes)*

Michele Zorzi
(2,593 votes)




Octavia Dobre
(1,721 votes)

Ekram Hossain

Andrzej Jajszczyk
(683 votes)

Wei Zhang
(2,517 votes)*

Officers for a Two-Year Term Beginning 1 January 2022



Dong In Kim
(1,016 votes)

Tomoaki Otsuki
(1,421 votes)

Angela Yingjun Zhang
(2,771 votes)*







Robert Schober
(2,898 votes)*

Fambirai Takawira
(1,260 votes)

Christos Verikoukis
(952 votes)







Naofal Al-Dhahir
(803 votes)

Wahab Almuhtadi
(885 votes)

Maite Brandt-Pearce
(1,276 votes)

Yuguang “Micheal” Fang
(2,189 votes)*

Wendi Heinzelman
(1,318 votes)*

Halim Yanikomeroglu
(961 votes)



Officers for a Three-Year Term Beginning 1 January 2022

Meet The Candidates

Read each candidate's Position Statement and Biography and view VP Meet The Candidate videos by clicking on their name.  Also, click here to see all Meet the VP Candidate videos.

IEEE Communications Society Elections Term Beginning January 2022

Vice President - Member and Global Activities

Vice President - Publications

Vice President - Technical and Educational Activities

Officers for a Two-Year Term Beginning 1 January 2022

Members at Large - Asia/Pacific Region

Members at Large - Europe, Middle East, Africa Region

Officers for a Three-Year Term Beginning 1 January 2022


The opinions expressed in the statements are those of the individual candidates and do not necessarily reflect Communications Society positions or policies.