Skip to main content
abstract blue background

About ComSoc

Zhi Ding

2023 Member-at-Large - Latin America/North America Region Candidate

Position Statement

As a COMSOC member for over 35 years, I view COMSOC as my second home.  I have the deepest affection for fellow members like my family and pledge my utmost commitment to serving COMSOC members, especially young and student members who are the future of COMSOC.  

If elected as Member-at-Large, I plan to focus on the following endeavours:

  • COMSOC’s high-quality journals and conferences are vital to all. I shall promote a stronger system to reward excellent editors, reviewers, conference organizers, and authors of high-quality papers while ensuring the highest integrity.
  • COMSOC must serve members well and relies on selfless volunteers. I aim to promote members across all geographical regions, regardless of gender, ethnicity, profession, and experience, in COMSOC decision-making.
  • COMSOC is a highly valued organization to foster scientific collaboration and exchanges for advancing science and technology. I shall champion a strong Board against political interferences or any other external pressure.


Zhi Ding is a Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at University of California, Davis. He received his PhD from Cornell University in 1990, MASc from University of Toronto (1987) and B.Eng. from Southeast University (1982). He then served as faculty member of Auburn University and University of Iowa. He has co-authored nearly 500 peer-reviewed papers and two books including Modern Digital and Analog Communication Systems, Oxford University Press.

Zhi is a Fellow of IEEE and currently serves as COMSOC Board of Governors Parliamentarian. He was Technical Program Chair of 2006 Globecom and General Chair of 2016 IEEE ICASSP. He was COMSOC’s Chief Information Officer (2018-2022) and Chief Marketing Officer (2020-22). He also served as Member and Chair of Transactions on Wireless Communications Steering Committee. He was Distinguished Lecturer of IEEE CAS and COMSOC. He received Wireless Communications Recognition Award in 2012 and COMSOC Education Award in 2020.