Skip to main content
Jianwei Huang

2023 Member-at-Large - Asia/Pacific Region Candidate

Position Statement

As an IEEE member for over 20 years, I have held various leadership positions in ComSoc, including Editor-in-Chief, technical committees Chairs, and flagship conference TPC Co-Chair. If elected as a Member-at-Large, I will focus on promoting these initiatives:

  • Addressing interdisciplinary societal challenges through promoting new communications technologies that help create a more sustainable world.
  • Advancing visibility ComSoc technical activities and publications by promoting high technical standards and transparent decision making.
  • Promoting diversity of membership and leadership, including gender, age, and geography, to ensure that ComSoc represents a broad range of perspectives and experiences.
  • Reducing costs for members by exploring innovative ways to provide value-added services, such as low-cost online participation in events, without compromising the quality of technical activities.

I am committed to serving ComSoc and its members, and I believe that these initiatives will strengthen the impact and relevance of ComSoc in the dynamic field of communications.


Jianwei Huang is a Presidential Chair Professor and Associate Vice President of the Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen. He has published 340+ papers on communication network optimization and economics and received 16,000+ citations. His leadership positions within ComSoc include Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Network Science and Engineering (2021-), Associate Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Open Journal of the Communications Society (2019-2020), Chair of the Technical Committee of Cognitive Networks (2016-2018), and Chair of the Technical Committee of Multimedia Communications (2012-2014). He served as Member of IEEE Koji Kobayashi Award Committee (2021-),  TPC Co-Chair of IEEE ICCC'21 and IEEE ICC'20, and Area TPC Chair of IEEE INFOCOM (18-21). He received the IEEE ComSoc TCCN Publication Award (2022) and IEEE Marconi Prize Paper Award in Wireless Communications (2011). He is an IEEE Fellow, a Clarivate Analytics Highly Cited Researcher (2016-2017), and an IEEE ComSoc Distinguished Lecturer (2015 – 2018).