Skip to main content
Ricardo A. Veiga

2023 Member-at-Large - Latin America/North America Region Candidate

Position Statement

ComSoc needs to bring evolving value to its membership. In addition to our high-quality publications and conferences, we should introduce new services to serve our community. As Director of Member Services, I launched programs like Virtual Distinguished Lecturers, Sister Chapters program, Internet for All competition, and several membership discounts. If elected, I will focus on:

  • Ensuring our leadership in disseminating the highest-quality technical information to both academics and practicing engineers.
  • Producing low-cost or even free continuing educational programs, through customized access to online content such as webinars and tutorials.
  • Helping more junior researchers, engineers, and students participate in ComSoc, promoting a truly wide-open society.
  • Taking care of the special members’ needs all over the world.

With many years in academia and industry, I understand both needs. My broad experience and service at the Chapter and Society levels will help me to effectively serve ComSoc members. Thank you for your support.


Ricardo Veiga is an associate professor at the Universidad de Buenos Aires (UBA). He graduated from UBA as an electronics engineer (six-year degree program), and did postgraduate studies in Japan and at UADE University. He has also been working in industry for 25 years. He is a member of ComSoc’s Board of Governors as Director of Member Services (2020-2023), increasing the number of members by 9.2% during 2020 and reaching 30,000 members in 2022. He is also a member of ComSoc’s MGA Council and the Educational Services Board. He was elected as Member-at-Large of ComSoc’s Board of Governors (2017–2019) and was previously appointed as Regional Director (2004–2005), increasing the number of Chapters by 17 percent and Student Branch Chapters by 38 percent. As Chair of the local ComSoc Chapter, he received the Chapter Achievement Award. He also received the IEEE RAB Achievement Award and IEEE Third Millennium Medal.