Skip to main content
Wei Zhang

2023 Vice President - Technical and Educational Activities Candidate

Position Statement

Technical and Educational Activities (TEA) is the cornerstone of the IEEE ComSoc. To provide the most benefits to our members, the TEA should be further advancing communications and networking technology for the betterment of humanity and strengthening our educational services globally. If elected, I will devote myself, in collaboration with ComSoc volunteers and staff, to:

  • Further excellence of ComSoc’s leadership in emerging communications and networking technology by enhancing its technical activities and educational services;
  • Empower technical committees to meet the needs of academics, engineers, practitioners, scientists, students, by creating new values and implementing new initiatives;
  • Promote industry participation by broadening and strengthening the linkages to industry through new collaborative programs while also addressing the needs of the research community;
  • Help more junior researchers, engineers, and students from all continents by creating regional and local young professionals and students technical exchange platforms;
  • Enrich our members with more professional development and educational opportunities by offering online resources, training courses, webinars and tutorials, etc.

I believe my extensive work experience in ComSoc and dedication to member benefits have prepared me well to serve and promote the excellence of our community.


Wei Zhang [F] is a Professor at the University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia. Currently, he is Vice President of IEEE Communications Society (2022-2023). Within ComSoc, he served in many leadership positions including Member-at-Large on the Board of Governors (2018-2020), Chair of Wireless Communications Technical Committee (2019-2020), Vice Director of Asia Pacific Board (2017-2021), Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Wireless Communications Letters (2016-2019), Technical Program Committee Chair of APCC 2017 and ICCC 2019, Award Committee Chair of AP Board and Award Committee Chair of TCCN. In addition, he served as a member in various ComSoc boards/committees, including Journals Board, Technical Committee Recertification Committee, Finance Standing Committee, IT Committee, Steering Committee of IEEE Transactions on Green Communications and Networking and Steering Committee of IEEE Networking Letters. He received the Ph.D. degree from the Chinese University of Hong Kong in 2005. He has been an IEEE Fellow since 2015.