You are here

Edwin Howard Armstrong Achievement Award 2015 - Theodore S. Rappaport

"For broad contribution and outstanding leadership in channel measurement and technology research fundamental to mobile communication."

Theodore S. Rappaport

Theodore (Ted) S. Rappaport is the David Lee/Ernst Weber Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering with New York University (NYU) Tandon School of Engineering, Brooklyn, NY, USA, and is the Founding Director of NYU WIRELESS which has conducted pioneering work on millimeter wave wireless communications for fifth generation (5G) networks. He also holds professorship positions with Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences and the School of Medicine, NYU. He founded major wireless research centers at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (MPRG), The University of Texas at Austin (WNCG), and NYU (NYUWIRELESS), and founded two wireless technology companies (TSR Technologies and Wireless Valley Communications) that were sold to publicly traded firms. He is a highly sought-after technical consultant having testified before the U.S. Congress and having served the ITU. He has advised more than 100 students, has more than 100 patents issued and pending. He has authored, co- authored, and co-edited more than 200 papers and 20 books in the wireless field, including the best-seller Wireless Communications: Principles and Practice (2nd ed., Prentice Hall ©2002). His latest book, Millimeter Wave Wireless Communications (Pearson/Prentice Hall ©2015), is the first comprehensive text on the subject.

Among his other honors are the Marconi Young Scientist Award (1990), a National Science Foundation Presidential Faculty Fellowship (1992), the Sarnoff Citation from the Radio Club of America (2000), the Terman Award (2002) from the American Society of Engineering Education (ASEE), the Stuart F. Meyer Award from the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society (2005), the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) Sir Monty Finniston Medal (2011), the William Sayle award from the IEEE Education Society (2012), and the IEEE Award for Outstanding Contributions to Wireless Communications (2015). In 2015, Rappaport and his students received the Donald G. Fink Prize, an annual award given to the authors of the best tutorial paper throughout the entire universe of IEEE publications, for their pioneering work on millimeter wave (mmWave) mobile communications for 5G.

Prof. Rappaport regularly volunteers in the IEEE and other organizations. He served as a senior editor of the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications, helped start the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, was the first liaison between the IEEE Communications Magazine and IEEE Vehicular Technology Society, and at the request of the IEEE Press at the dawn of the modern wireless industry, developed a series of selected reading compendia on wireless communications topics. He has served as an elected board member to both the IEEE Communications Society (ComSoc) and Vehicular Technology society (VTS), and he launched the VTS Distinguished Lecture program. He served as the Technical Program Chairman of GLOBECOM 2004 in Dallas and was Program Executive for GLOBECOM 2014 in Austin. He also served on the board of the Marconi Society and several non-profit and for-profit boards, and founded three annual conferences on wireless communications at Virginia Tech, UT Austin, and NYU.