You are here

Donald W. McLellan Meritorious Service Award 2013 - Byeong Gi Lee

"For promotion of Global culture and values in IEEE Communications Society activities and governance."

Byeong Gi Lee

Byeong Gi Lee received a B.S. degree from Seoul National University and a Ph.D degree from UCLA. He worked for Granger Associates, Santa Clara, California, and AT&T Bell Laboratories, North Andover, Massachusetts, before joining the faculty of Seoul National University, where he served as the Vice Chancellor for Research Affairs and the Director of the Institute of New Media and Communications.

Dr. Lee served as the President of Korea Information and Communications Society (KICS), as the President of Korea Society for Engineering Education (KSEE), as a Vice President of Accreditation Board of Engineering Education of Korea (ABEEK) and as the founding President of Citizen’s Coalition for Scientific Society (CCSS) in Korea. He also served for the Korean government as a member of the Presidential Advisory Committee of Policy Planning, as a member of the Presidential Advisory Council on Science and Technology, and as a member of the Policy Committee of the Ministry of Justice, and recently he served as a Commissioner of Korea Communications Commission (KCC). Within the IEEE Communications Society (ComSoc) he served as the 2010-2011 President and is currently serving as the chair of the Nominations and Elections Committee.

Dr. Lee published seven textbooks in English, including Wireless Communications Resource Management (by Wiley in 2009), and holds 13 U.S. patents with five more patents pending. He received several best paper awards including the 1984 Myril B. Reed Best Paper Award, Exceptional Contribution Awards from AT&T Bell Laboratories, a Distinguished Achievement Award from KICS, the 2001 National Academy of Science (of Korea) Award, the 2005 Kyung-am Academic Award, the 2011 Grand Information and Communications Award, and the Order of Service Merit with Yellow Stripe from Korean Government in 2012. He is a Member of the National Academy of Engineering of Korea, a Member of Sigma Xi, and a Fellow of the IEEE.