You are here

Harold Sobol Award for Exemplary Service to Meetings & Conferences 2017 - Chengshan Xiao

"For more than 12 years of outstanding contribution to the organization and technical management of IEEE Communications Society's flagship and premier conferences."

Chengshan Xiao

Chengshan Xiao (M'99-SM'02-F'10) is the Department Chair and Chandler Weaver Professor with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Lehigh University. Previously, he served as a Program Director at the U.S. National Science Foundation. He was a senior member of scientific staff with Nortel Networks, a faculty member at Tsinghua University, University of Alberta, University of Missouri - Columbia, and Missouri University of Science and Technology. He also held visiting professor positions in Germany and Hong Kong.

Chengshan is IEEE Fellow and Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering. In the IEEE Communications Society, he served as Member-at-Large on the Board of Governors, Director of Conference Publications, Distinguished Lecturer, and on the Fellow Evaluation Committee. He was the Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, and Funding Chair of IEEE Technical Committee on Wireless Communications. He is currently Technical Program Co-Chair of GLOBECOM 2017, and on the Steering Committee of WCNC. Previously, he served as Symposia Co-Chair of ICC 2012, Technical Program Chair of ICC 2010, Publication Chair of WCNC 2008, Wireless Communications Symposium Co-Chair of ICC 2008 and GLOBECOM 2005, Phy/MAC Track Co-Chair of WCNC 2007. He received several distinguished awards including 2014 Humboldt Research Award.