You are here

Joseph LoCicero Award for Exemplary Service to Publications 2014 - Chengshan Xiao

"For extraordinary service and leadership as the Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications."

Chengshan Xiao

Chengshan Xiao (M'99-SM'02-F'10)earned a Bachelor of Science degree in electronic engineering from the University of Electronic Science and Technology of China in 1987, a Master of Science degree in electronic engineering from Tsinghua University in 1989, and a Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Sydney in 1997.

From 1989 to 1993, he was a faculty member with the Department of Electronic Engineering, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China. From 1997 to 1999, he was a Senior Member of Scientific Staff with Nortel Networks, Ottawa, ON, Canada. From 1999 to 2000, he was a Faculty Member with the University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB, Canada. From 2000 to 2007, he was with the University of Missouri, Columbia, where he was an Assistant Professor and then an Associate Professor. He is currently a Professor with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Missouri University of Science and Technology, Rolla (formerly University of Missouri, Rolla). His research interests include wireless communications, signal processing, and underwater acoustic communications. He is the holder of three U.S. patents. His invented algorithms have been implemented into Nortel's base station radios after successful technical field trials and network integration.

Dr. Xiao is the Director of Conference Publication of IEEE Communications Society (ComSoc),an ElectedMember of IEEE ComSoc Board of Governors, a Member of IEEE ComSoc Fellow Evaluation Committee, and a Distinguished Lecturer of the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society. Previously, he served as an Editor, an Area Editor and the Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications; an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology, the IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems-I, and the international journal of Multidimensional Systems and Signal Processing. He was the Technical Program Chair of the 2010 IEEE International Conference on Communications (ICC), the Lead Co-chair of the 2008 IEEE ICC Wireless Communications Symposium, and a Phy/MAC Program Co-chair of the 2007 IEEE Wireless Communications and Networking Conference. He served as the founding Chair of the IEEE Technical Committee on Wireless Communications and the Vice-Chair of the IEEE Technical Committee on Personal Communications. He is a recipient of the 2014 Humboldt Research Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.