You are here

Joseph LoCicero Award for Exemplary Service to Publications 2015 - Xuemin (Sherman) Shen

"For outstanding service as Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Network and as a Founding Area Editor of IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications."

Xuemin (Sherman) Shen

Xuemin (Sherman) Shen (IEEE M’97-SM’02-F09)  received the B.Sc.(1982) degree from Dalian Maritime University (China) and the M.Sc. (1987) and Ph.D. degrees (1990) from Rutgers University, New Jersey (USA), all in electrical engineering. He is a Professor and University Research Chair, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Waterloo, Canada. He was the Associate Chair for Graduate Studies. Dr. Shen’s research focuses on resource management for interconnected wireless/wired networks, wireless network security, social networks, smart grid, and vehicular ad hoc and sensor networks. He is an elected member of IEEE ComSoc Board of Governor, and the Chair of Distinguished Lecturers Selection Committee. Dr. Shen served as the Technical Program Committee Chair/Co-Chair for IEEE Globecom’16, Infocom’14, IEEE VTC’10 Fall, and Globecom’07, the Symposia Chair for IEEE ICC’10, the Tutorial Chair for IEEE VTC'11 Spring and IEEE ICC’08, the General Co-Chair for ACM Mobihoc’15, the Chair for IEEE Communications Society Technical Committee on Wireless Communications, and P2P Communications and Networking. He also serves/served as the Editor-in-Chief for IEEE Network, Peer-to-Peer Networking and Application, and IET Communications; a Founding Area Editor for IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications; an Associate Editor for IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology, etc.; and the Guest Editor for IEEE JSAC, IEEE Wireless Communications, and IEEE Communications Magazine. Dr. Shen received the Excellent Graduate Supervision Award in 2006, and the Outstanding Performance Award in 2004, 2007, 2010, and 2014 from the University of Waterloo, and the Premier’s Research Excellence Award (PREA) in 2003 from the Province of Ontario, Canada. Dr. Shen is a registered Professional Engineer of Ontario, Canada, an IEEE Fellow, an Engineering Institute of Canada Fellow, a Canadian Academy of Engineering Fellow, a Royal Society of Canada Fellow, and a Distinguished Lecturer of IEEE Vehicular Technology Society and Communications Society.