You are here

Award for Public Service in the Field of Telecommunications 2009 - David Falconer

"For outstanding public service in advancing the theory and practice of wired and wireless data communication and mentoring a generation of communication engineers."

David Falconer (Life Fellow) is Professor Emeritus and Distinguished Research Professor in the Department of Systems & Computer Engineering at Carleton University, which he joined in 1980. He received the B.A.Sc. degree in Engineering Physics from the University of Toronto in 1962 and the S.M. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from M.I.T. in 1963 and 1967 respectively.  After a postdoctoral fellowship at the Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, he was with Bell Laboratories, Holmdel, New Jersey from 1967 to 1980.  During 1976-77 he was a visiting professor at Linköping University in Sweden. He was Founding Director of Carleton’s Broadband Communications and Wireless Systems (BCWS) Centre from 2000 to 2004.

His research career has mainly focused on adaptive signal processing for wired and wireless modems, and currently, next-generation broadband wireless communications systems. He and his over 70 Carleton masters and doctoral graduates have made significant contributions to advanced wireless systems through participation in the Telecommunications Research Institute of Ontario (TRIO), the Canadian Institute for Telecommunications Research ( CITR), the IEEE 802.16 wireless MAN standards group and in the European Union WINNER Project. He was the elected Chair of Working Group 4 of the Wireless World Research Forum (WWRF) in 2004 and 2005.

Dr. Falconer received awards for papers published in IEEE Communications Transactions and IEEE Vehicular Technology Transactions in 1983, 1986 and 1992.   From 1981 to 1987 he was Editor for Digital Communications of the IEEE Transactions on Communications. He was Vice Technical Chair of the IEEE VTC Conference in 1998, Honorary Conference Chair of the CNSR Conference in 2007, and Executive Chair of the IEEE WCNC Conference in 2008. He received the 2008 Canadian Award for Telecommunications Research and a 2008 Recognition Award from the IEEE Technical Committee on Wireless Communications and the IEEE Canada 2009 Fessenden Award (Telecommunications). In 2009 he was awarded an honorary Doctorate of Science from the University of Edinburgh.