You are here

Award for Public Service in the Field of Telecommunications 2017 - Arnold Ph. Djiwatampu

"For dedicated service as the founding Director of the ITU Bureau for Telecommunications Development (BDT), Geneva."

Arnold Ph. Djiwatampu

Graduated from the Institute of Technology of Bandung (ITB),1963

Professional  Experience

Founder of a consulting company, PT.Tiara Titian Telekomunikasi (TT-Tel), 1995.

One of TT-Tel’s achievement: design of the 35,000 km High Capacity FO Backbone – PALAPA RING, connecting 450 Districts, Roadmap for Telecommunication Industry, concepts for the National Satellite Development and the Frequency Utilization Right Fee.

Assisted in providing a business plan for TELKOM, and provided support to private multinational companies on international frequency allocations (Teledesic, Iridium, Motorola. etc).

He was elected by the Plenipotentiary Conference (PP) of ITU (International Telecommunication Union)  as the first Director of the BDT (Bureau for Telecommunications Development), Geneva, 1993-94. Earlier, elected Chairman of the ITU Council, 1989-91, and masterminded Indonesia and developing countries the controversial restructuring of the ITU, then adopted by PP-1992

Main Government assignments

Deputy Director General (DDG) for Standardization and earlier as DDG for Telecommunications, Department of Communications, presently Ministry of Communications and Information Technology (MCIT), 1989-92

Program Manager of the first Domestic Satellite Communication Program, PALAPA, two satellites and 40 10-meter ground stations, 1975-77.
Lecturer at the Post-Graduate studies, University of Indonesia (UI), 1997-2012.on Legal Regulations and International Bodies

Involvement in IEEE:

As Member of IEEE since 1978, initiated the establishment of IEEE Indonesia Section in 1987, Senior Member since 1985, Life Senior Member since 2009, and Chair of IEEE Indonesia Section, 2009-2010, presently member of the Section Advisory Board.


IEEE Communications Society Award for Public Service in the Field of Telecommunications, 2017
Lifetime Achievement for Services in the Telecommunication World from MCIT, 2008
Palapa Noble Service (Adikarya Palapa) and Patrawahana Noble Service (Adikarya Patrawahana) Awards, MCIT, 2003
National Development Medal (Satya Lencana Pembangunan), from the Government, 1995
ITU Silver Medal (Highest honor of  ITU), 1991