You are here

The IEEE Communications Society Young Author Best Paper Award

Plaque and honorarium of $1000. In the event that there is more than one young author, the maximum prize shall be divided equally among all young authors and each shall receive a plaque.

The Young Author Best Paper Award honors the author(s) of an especially meritorious paper dealing with a subject related to the Society’s technical scope and who, upon the date of submission of the paper, is less than 30 years of age.

Author(s) of an original paper in a subject related to the Society’s technical scope and appearing in one of the Society’s solely owned or jointly owned transactions or journals in the previous 3 calendar years and who, upon the date of submission of the paper, is(are) less than 30 years of age. There are no restrictions as to IEEE membership, nationality, race, creed, age or gender.  The prize is only presented to the young author(s) who are under 30 years of age and have made a substantial contribution to the paper.

Annually; if, in any year, no eligible paper is deemed to be of sufficient quality, no award will be given.

Basis for Judging
Originality, utility, timeliness, impact, and clarity of presentation.

Nominee Solicitation
Nominations solicited by Editors-in-Chief to the Editorial Boards and guest Editors of all IEEE Communications society publications.  After screening, each Editor-in-Chief shall submit at least one nomination.  Nominations will also be solicited from ComSoc Technical Committee chairs and readership (through published notice).

Selection Process
All nominations shall be submitted to the IEEE Communications Society Awards Committee for final selection by February 15 of each year.   The selection process shall comply with procedures and regulations established in IEEE and ComSoc governing documents, in particular with IEEE Policy 4.4 on Award Limitations.

Nominations will be solicited from January until February 15 unless otherwise noted via open call on Web site; submitted via Nomination Form on the Web. Recipients will be notified by April 30.

Administration and Funding
Budget Implication - $1000 per year is needed. The IEEE Communications Society will administer the award out of annual Society operating budget. The Society's budget includes the amount for this award and the Society budget is net positive with the inclusion of the award. 

Annually presented by the IEEE Communications Society Awards Committee Chair, in the name of the IEEE Communications Society at the International Conference on Communications (ICC).

The award will be publicized on the ComSoc Web page, Society Magazine, electronic Newsletter, and Awards Luncheon brochure.

Award Committee
The IEEE Communications Society Awards Committee will be responsible for the final selection.  The committee consists of a chair (appointed by the president for a two-year term) and at least 12 members (appointed by the chair for a three-year term)

(approved 12/2014)



Ahmed Hamdi Sakr
Ekram Hossain

“Cognitive and Energy Harvesting-Based D2D Communication in Cellular Networks: Stochastic Geometry Modeling and Analysis”, IEEE Transactions on Communications, Vol. 63, No. 5, pp. 1867-1880, May 2015.


Haijun Zhang
Chunxiao Jiang
Norman C. Beaulieu
Xiaoli Chu
Xiangming Wen
Meixia Tao

“Resource Allocation in Spectrum Sharing OFDMA Femtocells with Heterogeneous Services”, IEEE Transactions on Communications, Vol. 62, No. 7, pp. 2366-2377, July 2014.


Maria Gorlatova
Aya Wallwater
Gil Zussman

“Networking Low-Power Energy Harvesting Devices: Measurements and Algorithms”, IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing, Volume 12, Issue 9, pp. 1853 - 1865, September 2013.


Harpreet S. Dhillon
Radha Krishna Ganti
Francois Baccelli
Jeffrey G. Andrews

“Modeling and Analysis of K-Tier Downlink Heterogeneous Cellular Networks”, IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications, Vol. 30, No. 3, April 2012. pp. 550-560.