You are here

IEEE Communications Society Board of Governors Award for Distinguished Staff Service

The award will include a plaque and honorarium.*

Member of Communications Society staff.

Basis for Judging
For outstanding contributions over a period of years to IEEE Communications Society

Nomination & Selection Process
Nominations will be requested from the standing BoG, and privately sent to the Society President and Executive Director--one nomination from each of the BoG members.  Nominations may include non-ComSoc IEEE Staff.

Nominations must be submitted on or before August 30 and include a brief (less than 250 words) explanation as to why the individual is being nominated.  The Operations & Facilities Committee, during its ICC meeting, will discuss and identify the recipient.  Members of the OFC shall have the nomination information at least two weeks before their meeting, for their prior study. If there is an award recipient, the BoG will be informed, but the recipient’s name will be privately and promptly conveyed to the BoG (staff not to be copied).

The award will be conveyed during IEEE GLOBECOM.  The award title and description, with the recipient’s name, shall be included in the ComSoc Community Directory.  There is no requirement to confer the award in any given year.

Administration /Funding
*BoG members are permitted to privately make a voluntary contribution, sent to the IEEE Communications Society President.  The amount of the monetary award, if any, will not be made public to either IEEE staff or the volunteer community.

(Created/approved by the Board of Governors June 2007)


2007 - Carole Swaim
2009 - Ting Qian
2011 - Bruce Worthman
2014 - Carol Cronin