You are here

2018 AP Regional Member-At-Large Candidate Zhisheng Niu

Candidate's Statement

I am honored to be nominated as the first Member-at-Large candidate from the largest and fast-growing country.  If elected, I will fully commit myself to the healthy growth and realistic globalization of ComSoc based on my multi-tier experiences in IEEE/ComSoc, IEICE (Japan), and CIC (China). Specifically, I will work passionately to strengthen the tie between ComSoc and our Sister Societies and local chapters through improved technical and educational activities. I also have a plan to enhance the coverage and the timeliness of our e-publications as the existing Director for Online Contents.  I sincerely hope I have the honor to serve you.


Zhisheng Niu graduated from Beijing Jiaotong University in 1985 and received his PhD degree from Toyohashi University of Technology, Japan, in 1992.  He worked at Fujitsu Laboratories Ltd., Japan, in 1992-1994, and is currently a professor at Tsinghua University, China. He is a fellow of IEEE (2012) and IEICE-Japan (2007), and won the Best Paper Award from the IEEE ComSoc Asia-Pacific Board in 2013 and also from APCC’07, APCC’09, APCC’13, and ITC’13, the Outstanding Contribution Award to IEEE Standard 1888 from IEEE Standard Association in 2011, the Outstanding Young Researcher Award from Nature Science Foundation of China in 2009, and Okawa Foundation Research Grant, Japan, in 2012.

Professor Niu has rich experience in IEEE as Membership Development Coordinator of Region 10 (2009-2010) and Member of the IEEE Teaching Awards Committee (2014-2016); in ComSoc as Beijing Chapter Chair (2001-2008), Director of Asia-Pacific Region (2008-2009), Editor of IEEE Wireless Communication (2009-2013), Director of Conference Publications (2010-2011), Chair of Emerging Technology Committee (2014-2015), and currently as Area Editor of IEEE Trans. Green Communications & Networking and Director of Online Contents; in IEICE (Japan) as Councilor (2009-2010).  He has also served as General Co-Chair of APCC’09, TPC Co-Chair of ICC’08, Panel Co-Chair of WCNC’10, Tutorial Co-Chair of GLOBECOM ‘12, and Workshop Co-Chair of WCNC’17.