You are here

2018 EMEA Regional Member-At-Large Candidate Prosper Chemouil

Candidate's Statement

Communications systems have been experiencing dramatic evolutions recently, also impacting economics and societal changes.  Within ComSoc, I will continue focusing on:

  • Expanding members’ involvement in emerging technical areas such as network softwarization, 5G, IoT, big data and artificial intelligence, cybersecurity and blockchain services.
  • Promoting industry support through standards development and targeted publications.
  • Encouraging professional development via conferences and journals/magazines, and through customized access to online content,  live tutorials, Webinars, and online communities.
  • Enhancing ComSoc globalization by attracting professionals from developing countries and extending cooperation with local societies worldwide.


Prosper Chemouil has recently retired as a research director on Future Networks at Orange Labs, the R&D Unit of the Orange Group, which he joined in 1980. His interests are with the design and management of new networks and technologies with significant involvement in standardization at ITU-T over 25 years, and in international projects.

Among others, he has been Co-Chair of the IEEE SDN Initiative and is now chairing the SDN area in the ComSoc Industry Communities Board.  He has served various ComSoc Journals including TNSM, JSAC, IEEE Network and IEEE Communications Magazine.  He has been involved as General or TPC Co-Chair of numerous events dealing with network performance and management, including IEEE conferences (ICC, NOMS/IM, NetSoft, HPSR, PIMRC), and ComSoc-sponsored events (ITC, CNSM, DRCN, etc.).

He received his Engineer diploma, and M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees in control theory from École Centrale de Nantes, France, in 1975, 1976 and 1978, respectively. Nominated as French Senior Engineer of the Year in 1995, Prosper received several national and international awards: the Blondel Medal, Salah Aidarous Award and Arne Jensen Achievement Award.  A member of IEEE for 30 years, he became a Fellow of the IEEE in 2003.