Skip to main content
Chengshan Xiao
Member at Large
Class 2019-2021

Chengshan Xiao is the Chandler Weaver Professor and Department Chair of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Lehigh University, USA. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Sydney, Australia. He is a Fellow of the IEEE and a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering. Previously, he served as a Program Director with the Division of Electrical, Communications and Cyber Systems at the National Science Foundation. He was a senior member of scientific staff with Nortel Networks, a faculty member at Tsinghua University, the University of Alberta, the University of Missouri - Columbia, and Missouri University of Science and Technology. He also held visiting professor positions in Germany and Hong Kong. His research interests include wireless communications, signal processing, and underwater acoustic communications. He is the holder of several patents granted in USA, Canada, China and Europe. His invented algorithms have been implemented into Nortel's base station radio products after successful technical field trials and network integration.

Dr. Xiao has been very active within the IEEE. He was the Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, and member of the IEEE TAB Periodical Committee. Among other activities within IEEE ComSoc, he has served as the Awards Committee Chair, the Director of Conference Publications, Member at Large on the Board of Governors, member of IEEE Fellow Evaluation Committee, Technical Program Chair of the 2010 IEEE International Conference on Communications, Technical Program Co-Chair of the 2017 IEEE Global Communications Conference, Founding Chair of the IEEE Wireless Communications Technical Committee, and Distinguished Lecturer. He received several distinguished awards including 2014 Humboldt Research Award, 2014 IEEE ComSoc Joseph LoCicero Award, 2015 IEEE Wireless Communications Technical Committee Recognition Award, and 2017 IEEE ComSoc Harold Sobol Award.