Skip to main content
Jeffrey Andrews
Chair, Emerging Technologies Committee

Jeffrey Andrews is the Cullen Trust Endowed Professor of ECE at the University of Texas at Austin. He has also worked actively in industry, including at Qualcomm and Intel, as well as a consultant to Samsung, Nokia, Qualcomm, Apple, Verizon, AT&T, Intel, Microsoft and NASA. He is on the Technical Advisory Board of Artemis Networks and GenXComm, and is co-author of books on WiMAX and LTE. He has served ComSoc with distinction, including as the Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications (20142016) and as technical program co-chair of IEEE Globecom 2014, among many other leadership roles.

Dr. Andrews is an ISI Highly Cited Researcher and has been co-recipient of paper awards including the 2016 IEEE Communications Society & Information Theory Society Joint Paper Award, the 2014 IEEE Stephen O. Rice Prize, the 2014 and 2018 IEEE Leonard G. Abraham Prize, the 2011 and 2016 IEEE Heinrich Hertz Prize, and the 2010 IEEE ComSoc Best Tutorial Paper Award. He received the 2015 Terman Award, the NSF CAREER Award, is an IEEE Fellow, and received the 2019 IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu technical field award. He holds a Ph.D. from Stanford.