Skip to main content
background image


IEEE Fellows Elevated as of 1 January 1976

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Only a select few IEEE members earn this prestigious honor.

Congratulations to the following Communications Society members for their election to the grade of Fellow of the IEEE. They now join company with a truly distinguished roster of colleagues.

Pier L. Bargellini
For contributions to satellite communications.

James C. Candy
For contributions to high-speed digital coders and video picture processing.

Sajjad H. Durrani
For contributions to the conceptual design and analysis of space comminations systems.

Burton I. Edelson
For contributions to and leadership in the development of satellite communication systems.

Athur Gelb
For contributions to the application of modern control and estimation theory to integrated navigation and guidance systems.

Maurice Karnaugh
For contributions to the understanding and applications of digital techniques in telecommunications.

Zen'ichi Kitamura
For contributions to electronic exchange systems and digital computer technology.

John N. Pierce
For contributions to communication systems and to the theory of diversity combining and algebraic coding.

John J. Renner
For contributions in the application of systems engineering to telecommunications for government and industry.

Burton R. Saltzberg
For contributions to data communications.

Hideo Seki
For contributions to the noise theory in telecommunications systems and to engineering education.

Tadahiro Sekimoto
For contribution and leadership in the field of digital communications.