Skip to main content
background image


IEEE Fellows Elevated as of 1 January 1980

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Only a select few IEEE members earn this prestigious honor.

Congratulations to the following Communications Society members for their election to the grade of Fellow of the IEEE. They now join company with a truly distinguished roster of colleagues.

Israel Bar-David
For contributions to detection theory as applied to optical communications.

Frederick Bauer
For accomplishments in unification of world-wide vehicular radio frequency interference standards and innovations in the technology of electromagnetic compatibility.

Joseph V. Charvk
For leadership in the development and application of communications satellite systems.

Joel S. Engel
For contribution to the concept and to the implementation of spectrally efficient, cellular mobile telephone systems.

Philip Fire
For fundamental contributions to error burst correcting codes.

Floyd M. Gardner
For contributions to the understanding and applications of phase lock loops.

Robert M. Gray
For contribution to information and communication theory.

Martin E. Hellman
For contribution to cryptography.

J.C Hoagland
For contributions to space communications.

Kenneth L. Jordan, Jr.
For contributions to military satellite systems communications.

Wolfgang A. Kaiser
For contribution to advanced communication systems.

Bernhard E. Keiser
For contribution to spacecraft electromagnetic compatibility.

John J. Kelleher
For contributions to international radio regulations.

Shu Lin
For contributions in coding theory and engineering education.

John I. Makhoul
For contributions to the theory of linear prediction and its applications to spectral estimation, speech analysis and data compression.

Shota Miyairi
For contributions to electrical machinery, power electronics, and leadership in electrical engineering education.

Robert A. Scholtz
For contributions to the theory and design of synchronizable codes for digital communications and radar systems.

Lee S. Tuomenoksa
For contributions to the development of telephone electronic switching systems.

Edward J. Weldon, Jr.
For contributions to the development of error correcting codes.