Skip to main content
background image


IEEE Fellows Elevated as of 1 January 1982

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Only a select few IEEE members earn this prestigious honor.

Congratulations to the following Communications Society members for their election to the grade of Fellow of the IEEE. They now join company with a truly distinguished roster of colleagues.

Ronald Crochiere 
Digital signal processing and its application to the digital encoding of speech.

Allen Gersho
The theory of signal processing in communications.

Simon Haykin
Signal processing, communications theory, and electrical engineering education.

Hiroshi Hirayama
Active network theory and leadership in graduate education.

Nuggelhally S. Jayant
Adaptive quantization and digital speech communication.

Serman Karp
The advancement of optical communication theory and the development of the Blue-Green optical satellite communications systems for submarine communications.

William Chien-Yeh Lee
The analysis, modeling, conceptual and practical design of mobile telephone systems.

Donald J. Marihart
Application of modern communication techniques to the control and protection of power systems.

Ferdy P.M. Mayer
The theory of ferromagnetics and the development of materials for the suppression of electromagnetic interence.

Peter Noll
Adaptive quantization and coding of speech signals.

Raymond L. Pickholtz
Design of digital communications systems and to engineering education.

Michael B. Pursley
Information theory and spread-spectrum communications.

Morton I. Schwartz
Leadership and personal contributions to the practical realization of optical fiber technology.

James J. Spilker, Jr.
Development of digital satellite communications and navigation systems.

Ralph E. Taylor
Electromagnetic interference predictions.

Donald W. Tufts
Digital communications and signal processing.

Andrew M. Werth
Leadership in the design and development of digital satellite communications systems.