Skip to main content
background image


IEEE Fellows Elevated as of 1 January 1983

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Only a select few IEEE members earn this prestigious honor.

Congratulations to the following Communications Society members for their election to the grade of Fellow of the IEEE. They now join company with a truly distinguished roster of colleagues.

Noach Amitay 
For contributions to the design and application of satellite based phased array antennas.

Lawrence E. Brennan
For contributions to the theory and concepts of adaptive arrays.

D. Wayne Hanson
For the development and implementation of improved time and frequency dissemination services using satellite techniques.

Jermaih F. Hayes
For contributions to the theory of local distribution computer communications.

Eric Herz
For contributions to the development and management of information systems for testing aerospace vehicles, and valuable services to the Institute.

Takeshi Kawahashi
For development in microwave communications and in satellite communications earth stations.

Genya Kishi
For contributions to the theory of lumped constant networks.

Ming-Tsan Liu
For contributions to distributed processing, computer networking, and education in computer science.

David G. Messerschmitt
For contributions to the theory of transmitting digital waveforms on band-limited channels.

John E. Midwinter
For leadership of a major research and development effort on optical-fiber transmission.

James J. Mikulski
For contributions to the development of cellular mobile radiotelephone systems.

Tsuneo Nakahara
For contributions to the development of microwave transmission lines, traffic control systems, and fiber optics.

Henri J. Nussbaumer
For contributions to the theory and development of line switching and data transmission systems.

Stewart D. Personick
For contributions to the theory and application of optical fiber transmission systems.

Harry R. Rudin, Jr.
For contributions to the analysis of computer communication network performance and protocols.

Paul M. Russo
For developments in microprocessor technology and its applications to consumer and industrial automation products.

Takashi Sugiyama
For developments in precision power measurement techniques and for leadership in electronic measurement and control industries.

Roger E. Ziemer
For contributions to digital communications systems and to engineering education.