Skip to main content
background image


IEEE Fellows Elevated as of 1 January 1985

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Only a select few IEEE members earn this prestigious honor.

Congratulations to the following Communications Society members for their election to the grade of Fellow of the IEEE. They now join company with a truly distinguished roster of colleagues.

Jonathan B. Allen
For contributions to speech analysis and synthesis systems.

Theo A.C.M. Claasen
For contributions to the theory of digital signal processing, in particular, the analysis of non-linear phenomena in digital filters.

Leonard S. Golding
For leadership in development of digital satellite transmission technology.

Robert E. McIntosh
For theoretical and experience contributions to the understanding of the propagation of transient pulses in physical media.

Wolfganag F.G. Mecklenbrauker
For contributions to the theory of digital signal processing and digital filtering.

Laurence B. Milstein
For contributions to the analysis and technology of spread-spectrum systems.

Richard G. Gould
For contributions in the fields of interference control and frequency management for communications satellite systems.

Simon Shin-Sing Lam
For contributions to the understanding of multiple access techniques, packet-switching networks, and communications protocols.

Ernst H. Luder
For contributions to the theory and design of analog and digital filters.

Bernard Picinbono
For contributions to signal processing, adaptive detection and stochastic processes.

Peter H. Reynolds
For leadership in development measurement techniques for insulation.

Carl R. Ryan
For contributions to the design and protoying of very high data-rate communications systems and wide-band signal processing electronics.

Massao Sugi
For contributions to the development of inductive radio systems for vehicles and leadership in the field of vehicular traffic control.

John M. Thorson, Jr.
For technical leadership in the design and implementation of a system to mitigate the effects of induction on communications and control facilities.

Fouad A. Tobagi
For contributions to the field of computer communications and local area networks.

William H. Tranter
For contributions in communications and signal processing research, and for leadership in engineering education.

Gottfried Ungerboeck
For contributions to the theory and practice of digital communications.