Skip to main content
background image


IEEE Fellows Elevated as of 1 January 1988

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Only a select few IEEE members earn this prestigious honor.

Congratulations to the following Communications Society members for their election to the grade of Fellow of the IEEE. They now join company with a truly distinguished roster of colleagues.

Anthony S. Acampora
For contribution to high capacity digital satellite systems and broad-band local communication networks.

Hamilton W. Arnold
For contribution to earth satellite propagation measurements.

Thomas P. Barnwell, III
For contributions to algorithms for digital coding of speech signals.

Bruno Beek
For contributions to audio/speech signal processing.

Neil J. Bershad
For contribution to stochastic signal processing systems.

John P. Burg
For discovery of maximum entropy spectral analysis.

Vinton G. Cerf
For contribution and leadership in the design, development, and application of internet protocols.

Walter S. Ciciora
For contribution in the development of standards for the consumer electronics and cable industry.

Harry M. Cronson
For contribution to the design and application of six-port automatic network analyzers.

Russell Ju Fu Fang
For contribution to the development of theoretical models, and simulation systems for the design, analysis, and operation of satellite communication systems.

Paul K. Giloth
For technical in the development of toll digital switching systems.

David J. Goodman
For contribution to robust quantization and variable rate coding.

Geoffrey Hyde
For contribution to large spherical and toroidal reflector antennas.

Jeffrey M. Jaffe
For contributions to routing and flow control in computer networks.

Anil K. Jain
For contributions to image processing.

Peter Kaiser
For leadership and innovation in characterization techniques for optical-fiber waveguides, and for contributions to the basic understanding of fiber transmission.

Mostafa Kaveh
For contributions to diffraction tomography and to the signal processing aspects of that imaging technique.

Panganmala R. Kumar
For fundamental contribution to stochastic and adaptive control.

Roger H. Lang
For contributions to vector electromagnetic scattering from discrete random media and their application to the microwave modeling of vegetation.

Jon W. Mark
For contributions to the understanding of computer communication networks.

Gabrield Maschio
For contribution to the development of high-voltage dc power cables.

Samuel R. McConoughey
For technical leadership in establishing a nationwide cellular telephone service, and for contributions to radio telecommunications standards.

M. Granger Morgan, II.
For leadership and pioneering contribution to research and teaching in applying engineering to the areas of technology and the public policy.

Henry Oman
For contributions to the design of economic energy conversion systems.

Johannes B. H. Peek
For contributions to digital communications and digital signal processing.

Martin Reiser
For contribution to queuing network theory and performance modeling of computer communication networks.

Peddapullaiah Sannuti
For contribution to the development of singular perturbation methods in systems and control.

Adrian Segall
For contribution to theory and practice in computer communication networks.

Sadakuni Shimada
For contribution to and leadership in the development of optical fiber transmission systems.

Osamu Shimbo
For development of theoretical methods for the calculation of the responses of nonlinear satellite transponders to digital and analog signals.

Bruce M. Thomas
For contributions to hybrid-mode waveguide theory and the development of corrugated horns.

Anastasios N. Venetsanopoulos
For contribution to digital signal and image processing.

John W. Woods
For contribution to multidimensional signal processing, image modeling, image restoration, and image compression.