Skip to main content
background image


IEEE Fellows Elevated as of 1 January 1989

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Only a select few IEEE members earn this prestigious honor.

Congratulations to the following Communications Society members for their election to the grade of Fellow of the IEEE. They now join company with a truly distinguished roster of colleagues.

Mohammed N. Afsar
For contribution to the development of measurement techniques for determination of complex dielectric and optical parameters of solids, liquid, and gaseous materials at millimet frequencies and above.

Albert P. Albrecht
For leadership in the modernization of the National Airspace Traffic Control System.

Abdul R.K Al-Ghunaim
For leadership in international organization of advance telecommunication development in Third World countries.

Yeheskel Bar-Ness
For contributions to the advancement of coherent communications and array processing for interference cancellation.

Lawrence Bernstein
For leadership in the development and incorporation of computer systems in the U.S. national telephone distribution plant.

Ezio M. Biglieri
For contribution to the modeling, analysis, and simulation of digital communication systems.

Stamatis Cambanis
For contribution to the theory of stable processes and to sampling designs in estimation and detection.

Larry U. Dworkin
For leadership in the application of fiber-optic technology.

Kamilo J. Feher
For contribution to digital communications research and for leadership in applied communication engineering education.

Alexander G. Fraser
For contributions and leadership in the design of switched virtual circuit networks.

Adolf J. Giger
For leadership in the design of digital and analog microwave communications systems.

Bruce E. Hajek
For contributions to stochastic systems, communication networks, and control systems.

Gary J. Handler
For contributions and leadership in the conception, planning, design, and implementation of network architectures and services.

Phillip M. Hopkins
For technical leadership in the analysis and development of advanced communication systems for space application.

C. Richard Johnson, Jr.
For contributions to adaptive parameter estimation theory with applications in digital control and signal processing.

Peter Kartaschoff
For contributions to the development of a cesium beam frequency standard and its use in precision time measurements.

Aaron Kershenbaum
For contribution to computer and voice communications network design.

Paul J. Kuehn
For contribution and leadership in teletraffic theory, communications system modeling and performance evaluation.

Karl A. Kummerle
For contribution to switching technology and leadership in local area networks.

Choong Woong Lee
For contribution to research and development of superwide-band AM, FM demodulators, medical electronics, and engineering education.

Odile M. Macchi
For contribution to adaptive filtering in communications and signal processing.

Gerald M. Masson
For contribution in interconnection structures for voice/data communications and fault-tolerant computing.

Nicholas F. Maxemchuk
For contributions to Metropolitan and Local Area Networks.

Peter J. McLane
For contribution to analysis and design of digital communications.

Kunika Mizushima
For contribution to the development of power system control and high-voltage direct current transmission technology.

Yrjo A. Neuvo
For contribution to digital-signal processing algorithms and engineering education.

J. Ben O'Neal, Jr.
For contribution to the theory and practice of encoding analog signals and information into digital form.

Madhu V. Pitke
For technical leadership in the design and implementation of a family of digital switches for India's national telecommunication network.

Birendra Prasada
For leadership in the development of industry/university research in image coding and processing and for contributions to digital encoding of image signs.

William D. Rummler
For contribution to the modeling of multipath fading and its effects on microwave digital radio.

John S. Ryan
For contribution to international telecommunications.

Luther G. Schimpf
For contribution to the digital transmission of speech.

Paul W. Shumate, Jr.
For contribution in lightwave system technology.

Warren L. Stutzman
For contribution to wave propagation through the natural environment and antenna synthesis.

William W. Wu
For contributions to the application of forward acting error coding in satellite communications.