Skip to main content
background image


IEEE Fellows Elevated as of 1 January 1992

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Only a select few IEEE members earn this prestigious honor.

Congratulations to the following Communications Society members for their election to the grade of Fellow of the IEEE. They now join company with a truly distinguished roster of colleagues.

Charles C. Allen
For leadership in the development and application of antennas for radar and communications systems.

Akihiro Ametani
For contribution to the analysis of electrical transients in power systems.

J. Bach Anderson
For contribution to antenna theory with significant application to cancer therapy and communications.

Vijay K. Bhargava
For leadership in the development and applications of error control coding devices.

Jan Biemond
For contributions to digital image modeling, restoration, and blur identification.

Charles W. Bostian
For contribution to and leadership in the understanding of satellite path radio wave propagation.

Werner Bux
For contribution to the design, analysis, and standardization of data-link and medium-access protocols.

Peter Cochrane
For leadership in and contribution to digital transmission systems and networks.

Douglass D. Crombie
For investigation of the propagation of very low frequency radio waves in the earth ionosphere wave guide and backscatter of high-frequency signals from the sea.

Kai Y. Eng
For contribution to the theory and design of high-performance packet switches in high-speed networks.

Richard P. Flam
For contribution to the design and application of broadband antennas.

Hamid Gharavi
For contribution to low bit-rate video coding and research in subtend coding for image and video applications.

Jerry D. Gibson
For contribution to the theory and practice of adaptive prediction and speech wave formcoding.

Kohei Habara
For contribution as a technical leader to the development and standardization of integrated services digital networks.

Joachim Hagenauer
For contribution to the application of convolutional codes to mobile radio and satellite communications.

Robert D. Hunsucker
For contributions to middle-and high-latitude ionospheric radio science.

Hiromasa Ikeda
For contribution to and leadership in the development of digital switching systems and technologies.

Yoshikazu Ikeda
For contributions to the multinational development of an advanced signaling system for international telecommunications services.

Hideki Imai
For contributions to the theory of coded modulation and two-dimensional codes.

Bing-Hwang Juang
For contribution to the theory of vector quantization and its application to coding and automatic recognition of speech.

Mohsen Kavehrad
For contribution to digital communications applied to indoor wireless communication and optical networking.

Demetrios Kazakos
For contribution to detection and estimation theory, with application to multi-user data communications and statistical pattern recognition.

Joseph W. Lechleider
For contribution to the theory and practices of high-speed digital subscriber lines.

Jhong Sam Lee
For leadership in the development of anti-jam receiver design techniques for frequency-hopping spread spectrum systems.

Lin-Nan Lee
For contribution to applying coding theory, cryptography, and digital signal processing to commercial satellite communications.

Victor On-Kwok Li
For contributions to the design and analysis of communications networks.

Rabinber N. Madan
For leadership in research programs for signal processing, communications, and nonlinear phenomena.

Keith S. Pennington
For contribution to non-impact printing and image processing technologies.

Paul R. Prucnal
For contributions to photonic switching and fiber-optic networks.

Stuart C. Schwartz
For contributions to signal detection, estimation, and communication theory, and for leadership in engineering education.

Kang G. Shin
For contributions to the theory of dynamic failure in real-time computing systems.

Masaaki Shinji
For contribution to antennas for public telecommunications systems, and for leadership in radio transmission systems development.

Curtis Siller
For contributions to the development of interference reduction systems for microwave radio, especially high frequency digital filters for communications.

Richard K. Snelling
For technical leadership in development and deployment of digital switching and fiberoptic transmission systems and associated operations support systems.

John D. Spragins
For contributions to telecommunications education and to performance and reliability modeling of computer networks.

John R. Treichler
For development in adaptive filtering algorithms and hardware for digital communications.

Edward C. van der Meulen
Contribution to the study of multiway channels in information theory.

Kikuo Wakino
For the development of high quality ceramic dielectric materials, and for contributions to their application.

Jean-Jacques Werner
For contributions to echo cancellation techniques for full duplex data communications.