Skip to main content
background image


IEEE Fellows Elevated as of 1 January 1994

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Only a select few IEEE members earn this prestigious honor.

Congratulations to the following Communications Society members for their election to the grade of Fellow of the IEEE. They now join company with a truly distinguished roster of colleagues.

Yalcin Ayasli
For contribution to the design and development of wide-band gallium arsenide (GaAs) monolithic microwave integrated circuits (MMICs).

Vincent W.S Chan
For leadership in optical communications systems.

Jin-Fu Chang
For contributions to research and education in computer communications.

Wen-Tsuen Chen
For contribution to software engineering and parallel processing systems design.

Yau Chau Ching
For leadership in the conception, standardization, and deployment strategy of the synchronous optical network (SONET).

John M. Cotton
For contribution to switching systems architectures involving high levels of fault tolerance.

Klein S. Gilhousen
For contribution to the design of military, commercial satellite, and terrestrial telecommunications systems.

Richard K. Hester
For contribution to programmable single-ship data acquisition systems.

Michael G. Hluchyj
For contributions to the theory, design, and analysis of switching and queuing in high-performance packet communication networks.

Charles C. Huang
For contribution and technical leadership in the development of high-volume GaAs MMIC's for commercial applications.

Koichi Inada
For contribution to the development of low-loss, high-reliability optical fiber and cables.

Richard L. Johnson
For contribution to the development of radio direction finding and location systems.

Israel Korn
For contribution to the analysis of digital communications systems.

Bhagawandas P. Lathi
For contributions to electrical engineering education in the field of signals, systems and communication.

Edward A. Lee
For contribution to design methodologies and programming techniques for real-time digital signal processing systems.

Francis R. Magee, Jr.
For contributions to data communication through receiver innovations in high-speed modems, and to protocols for packet-switched networks.

Manu Malek
For technical leadership in contribution to modeling, optimization, operations, and management of telecommunication networks.

Toshiaki Masuhara
For contribution in the invention and development of NMOS circuits and high-speed CMOS static memories.

Paul Mermelstein
For leadership in industry/university collaborative research in speech coding and recognition.

Takuro Muratani
For contribution to digital satellite communication systems and to efficient use of the geostationary satellite orbit.

David Neuhoff
For contribution to the theory of universal source coding and asymptotic vector quantization.

Lionel M. Ni
For contribution to parallel processing and distributed systems.

Kinichiro Ogawa
For contribution to the development of high-speed optical fiber communication systems.

Theodore S. Rzeszewski
For contributions to the design and development of frequency-synthesized tuning, and of "flesh tone" correction for television receivers, and of high-definitions television systems.

Alexander A. Sawchuk
For contirbution to digital image processing and optical information processing.

Shlomo Shamai
For contribution to Shannon theory as applied to the evaluation of the reliability of communication channels.

W. David Sincoskie
For contribution and innovations in fast packet switching, leading to the development of an international broad-band information infrastructure.

Tasuku Takagi
For contribution in the field of electromagnetic compatibility, specifically electric contact phenomena.

Desmond P. Taylor
For contribution to the theory and practice of signal space encoded signaling.

John B. Terry
For contribution to digital switching systems.

Jitendra K. Tugnait
For contribution to statistical signal processing and stochastic systems analysis.

Wolfhard J. Vogel
For contributions to the understanding of Earth-space propagation, especially in connection with the land mobile-satellite service.

Kojiro Watanabe
For the introduction of digital signal processing techniques to the realization of data modems.

Clifford J. Weinstein
For technical leadership in speech recognition, packet speech, and integrated voice/data networks.

Werner Wiesbeck
For contributions to wide-band polarimetric radar metrology.

Kung Yao
For contributions in communication theory, signal theory, and systolic algorithms.