Skip to main content
background image


IEEE Fellows Elevated as of 1 January 1997

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Only a select few IEEE members earn this prestigious honor.

Congratulations to the following Communications Society members for their election to the grade of Fellow of the IEEE. They now join company with a truly distinguished roster of colleagues.

Jean-Pierre Andre Adoul
For contributions to speech coding.

Sergio Benedetto
For contributions to performance evaluation of digital transmission systems, to analysis and design of trellis coded modulation techniques and to digital optical communication systems.

David Edward Borth
For contributions to the design and development of wireless telecommunication systems.

Larry Richard Carley
For contributions to the design of analog integrated circuits and to computer-aided analog design.

Justin C. Chuang
For contributions to radio link techniques, system architecture, and resource management of low-power wireless personal communications.

Kenneth Kingsley Clarke
For leadership in the development and production of calibration-quality instrumentation for laboratory and field applications.

Edward John Delp-III
For contributions to image compression and processing.

Russell George DeWItt
For leadership in the planning and deployment of all-digital telecommunications networks.

Dariush Divsalar
For contributions to the analysis and design of coding and modulation techniques for satellite, mobile, and deep-space communication systems.

Jose De Albuquerque Epifanio da Franca
For contributions to analog multirate signal processing and engineering education.

Michael S. Frankel
For leadership in the design of command, control and communications systems.

Jeannine Henriette Henaff
For contributions to the analysis, design and realization of telecommunication systems.

Shigeichi Hirasawa
For contributions to the development of channel coding schemes and error-correcting codes.

Michael Latham Honig
For contributions to adaptive interference suppression and multiuser detection for digital communications.

Rokuya Ishii
For contributions to the theory of and applications to digital signal processing.

Felix Paul Kapron
For development of low-loss fibers, and for contributions to fiber optic theory.

Bryon Lynn Kasper
For contribution to research and development of semiconductor optical receivers.

James F. Kurose
For contributions to the design of real-time communication protocols.

Miguel Angel Lagunas
For leadership in industrial applications of signal processing.

Byeong Gi Lee
For contributions to digital transform and filtering, to broadband telecommunications, and to digital scrambling.

Chin-Hui Lee
For contributions to automatic speech and speaker recognition.

Tho Le-Ngoc
For contributions to modulation and error correction coding and multiple-access schemes for digital wireless communications.

Raymond J. Leopold
For leadership and contributions to world-wide satellite communications and personal wireless.

Fuyun Ling
For the development and analysis of adaptive signal processing algorithms and their application to digital communication systems.

Henrique S. Malvar
For contributions to the theory and practice of lapped transforms, fast multirate filterbanks, and signal coding.

Edward J. Martin
For leadership in mobile satellite communications.

Hideo Miyahara
For contributions to modeling and performance evaluation of computer communication networks.

Cauligi S. Raghavendra
For contributions to design and analysis of interconnection networks and fault tolerant computing.

G. Robert Redinbo
For contributions for fault-tolerant design methods applicable to computer and communication systems.

Zong Sha
For technical leadership in radiowave-propagation research, practice, and education.

Paul H. Siegel
For contributions to signal processing and coding for storage systems.

Saburo Tazaki
For contributions to the advancement of digital storage systems for signal processing, coding and video compression using vector quantization.

Po Tong
For contributions to VLSI development of channel coding devices and their commercial applications.

Satish K. Tripathi
For advancing the state of the art in computer and network systems analysis and for excellence in technical and educational leadership.

Pramod Kumar Varshney
For contributions to the theory and applications of distributed detection and data fusion.

Osamu Wada
For his contribution to III-V semiconductor Optoelectronic Integrated Circuit (OEIC).

Anthony Joseph Weiss
For development of lower bounds on the accuracy of parameter estimators and contributions to time delay estimation and array processing.

Tsong-Ho Wu
For contributions to the architecture and design of self-healing SONET and ATM networks.

Zi-Sen Zhao
For contributions to optical fiber communications technologies and industry in the People's Republic of China.