Skip to main content
background image


IEEE Fellows Elevated as of 1 January 1998

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Only a select few IEEE members earn this prestigious honor.

Congratulations to the following Communications Society members for their election to the grade of Fellow of the IEEE. They now join company with a truly distinguished roster of colleagues.

Prof. Venkat Anantharam
For contributions to the analysis and control of communication networks.

Prof. Dimitris Anastassiou
For contributions to video technology, developing high-performance digital image and video coding techniques.

Dr. Ender Ayanoglu
For contributions to communication theory and coding applications in communication networks.

Dr. Antonio Cantoni
For contributions to the design of filter, antenna arrays and telecommunications systems using constrained optimization methods.

Dr. Young-Kai Chen
For contributions to ultra-short pulse generation using semiconductor lasers, integrated laser-modulators, and high frequency inP HBTs.

Dr. David D. Clark
For leadership in the engineering and deployment of the protocols that embody the Internet.

Dr. Edward John Coyle
For contributions to the theory of nonlinear signal processing.

Dr. David Hung-Chang Du
For contributions to database structures and retrieval algorithms.

Dr. Nariman Farvardin
For contributions to source coding and quantization.

Prof. Luigi Fratta
For contributions to packet switching technology.

Dr. Victor Samuel Frost
For contributions to the simulation, monitoring and control of communications networks.

Dr. Hideo Fukutomi
For leadership in optical fiber and cable technologies.

Dr. Costas N. Georghiades
For contributions to the theory of optimum receiver design.

Dr. Ira Alan Gerson
For contributions to the development of speech coding and recognition technologies.

Dr. Bernd Girod
For contributions to the theory and practice of video communication.

Prof. H. Scott Hinton
For leadership and contribution in the fields of smart pixel technology and free-space optical interconnects.

Prof. Rolf Johannesson
For contributions to the understanding and application of convolutional codes.

Dr. Joseph Katz
For contributions to the development of optoelectronic devices and systems for optical communications, remote sensing, and bar-code reading.

Dr. Dennis L. Knepp
For contributions to understanding the effects of random ionized media on signal propagation, leading to the development of mitigation techniques for satellite communications and radar systems.

Dr. Anthony Kuh
For contributions to the analysis of neural network models and their applications to signal processing.

Dr. Wu-Hon Francis Leung
For contributions to operating systems, protocols and programming methods supporting the development of distributed systems and multimedia communication applications.

Prof. Yasu Matsuyama
For contributions to learning algorithms with competition.

Prof. Curtis Robert Menyuk
For contributions to the mathematics and computation of light propagation in nonlinear and dispersive optical fibers.

Dr. Takao Nishitani
For contributions to the development of LSI chip architectures on digital signal processors.

Dr. William Abraham Pearlman
For contributions to the theory and practice of source coding and image compression.

Dr. Roger L. Peterson
For contributions to spread spectrum communication system design and personal communication systems.

Dr. Theodore Scott Rappaport
For research contributions and educational leadership in the field of wireless communications.

Prof. Norio Shiratori
For contributions to the theory and practice of advanced computer networks.

Prof. Wayne Eric Stark
For contributions to the theory and practice of coding and modulation in spread-spectrum communication systems.

Prof. Andrew S. Tanenbaum
For outstanding contributions to research and education in computer networks and operating systems.

Dr. Hemant K. Thapar
For contributions to the theory, development, and commercial deployment of advanced communication methods in data storage and transmission.

Dr. Patrick R. Trischitta
For contributions to the development and worldwide deployment of undersea fiber optic communication systems.

Mr. Robert McNally Walp
For leadership in the development of small earth station satellite systems for telecommunications.

Dr. Hiroshi Yasuda
For contributions to the international standardization activities on video coding technologies and the research and development of visual communications and multimedia communications systems.

Dr. Ya-Qin Zhang
For contribution to and leadership in the development of digital video compression and communications technology, standards, and products.