Skip to main content
background image


IEEE Fellows Elevated as of 1 January 2007

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Only a select few IEEE members earn this prestigious honor.

Congratulations to the following Communications Society members for their election to the grade of Fellow of the IEEE. They now join company with a truly distinguished roster of colleagues.

Roel Baets
For contributions to silicon photonics and to photonic integration. 

Christopher Doerr
For contributions to planar lightwave circuits.

Ramesh K. Gupta
For contributions to monolithic microwave integrated circuits.

Abbas Jamalipour
For contributions to next generation networks for traffic control.

Bao-Shuh Lin
For leadership in technology and industry development of broadband information network and digital video.

Biswanath Mukherjee
For contributions to architectures, algorithms, and protocols for optical networks.

Carlo Alberto Nucci
For contributions to analysis and modeling of lightning originated phenomena in power systems.

Ramachandran (Ram) Ramjee
For contributions to architecture, protocols, and performance of wireless networks.

Tom Rowbotham
For leadership in communications research and development commercialization and international industry cooperation.

Sudhakar Sahasrabudhe
For academic leadership in creating and managing an electrical engineering education system.

David Skellern
For contributions to high speed devices and systems for wireless and wireline communications networks.

Reiner Thomae
For contributions to high-resolution multidimensional channel sounding.

Jeffrey Wieselthier
For contributions to wireless ad hoc and energy-aware networking.

Michele Zorzi
For contributions in the area of energy efficient protocol design.

Gregory Bottomley
For contributions to wireless communication systems.

Vinko Erceg
For contributions to channel models for mobile and fixed wireless communications.

For contributions to wireless and mobile ad-hoc networks.

Stamatios Kartalopoulos
For contributions to digital broadband transmission, to digital communications control, and to advanced optical communications systems and networks.

Urbashi Mitra
For contributions to multiuser wideband digital communication systems.

Ayman Naguib
For contributions to space-time signal processing and coding for mobile wireless systems.

Ioannis Pitas
For contributions to nonlinear signal and image processing, digital watermarking and biometrics.

Christopher Rose
For contributions to wireless communication systems theory.

Sumit Roy
For contributions to multi-user communications theory and cross-layer design of wireless networking standards.

Seiichi Sampei
For contributions to the development of fading compensation and adaptive modulation techniques for wireless communication systems.

Ioannis Stavrakakis
For contributions to network traffic analysis and resource allocation methodologies.

Masamitsu Tokuda
For leadership in development and international standardization of electromagnetic compatibility for telecommunication systems.

Ning Xi
For contributions to nano-robotic manipulation and assembly.

Moshe Zukerman
For contributions to performance evaluation of communication systems and networks.

Kwang-Cheng Chen
For contributions to wireless broadband communications and wireless local area networks.

Steven Gorshe
For invention and standardization of elements of optical transmission systems.

Boudewijn Haverkort
For contributions to performance and dependability, evaluation of computer and communication systems.

Antonius Koonen
For contributions in fiber-optic broadband access networks.

Marc Moonen
For contributions to adaptive filtering algorithms for digital communications and audio signal processing.

Dalma Novak
For contributions to enabling technologies for the implementation of fiber radio systems.

David Plant
For contributions to optoelectronic devices.

Keith Ross
For contributions to design and analysis of computer networks.

Brian Sadler
For contributions to signal processing and sensor networks.

Ness Shroff
For contributions to the modeling, analysis and control of computer communication networks.

Leandros Tassiulas
For contributions to algorithms, protocols and architectures of wireless communication networks.

Rodney Vaughan
For contributions to the theory and design of antennas, diversity systems and signal processing techniques for mobile communications.

S. J. Ben Yoo
For contributions to optical networking including wavelength conversion, optical label switching networks, optical routers, and integrated photonics.

Thomas Richardson
For contributions to coding theory and practic