Skip to main content
background image


IEEE Fellows Elevated as of 1 January 2013

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Only a select few IEEE members earn this prestigious honor.

Congratulations to the following Communications Society members for their election to the grade of Fellow of the IEEE. They now join company with a truly distinguished roster of colleagues.

Stephen Alexander
for contributions to optical communication technologies, systems, and architectures

Jeffrey Andrews
for contributions to cellular and ad-hoc wireless communications

Peter Chow
for contributions to digital subscriber line technology

Tzi-Dar Chiueh
for contributions to baseband processing integrated circuits for communications systems

Marco Corsi
for development of high-speed amplifiers and analog to-digital convertors

Suhas Diggavi
for contributions to wireless networks and systems

Rene-Jean Essiambre
for contributions to fiber nonlinearities in optical telecommunication systems

Jeffrey Foerster
for leadership in wireless personal area networking

Paolo Gamba
for contributions to very high resolution remote sending image processing of urban areas

Saeed Ghassemzadeh
for contributions to measurement and modeling of broadband wireless channels and their applications to system design

Georgios Ginis
for contributions to transmission optimization in digital subscriber loops

Anders Host-Madsen
for contributions to communication theory for wireless networks

Xiaohua Jia
for contributions to distributed computing systems and multicast communications

Karl Johansson
for contributions to the applications of hybrid and networked systems

Lina Karam
for contributions to perception-based visual processing, image and video communications, and digital filtering

Nei Kato
for contributions to satellite systems and network intrusion detection

Peter Key
for contributions to optimal control of trunk reservations and distributed admission control in communication systems

Sung-Ju Lee
for contributions to algorithms for routing, multicasting, and interference mitigation in wireless local area networks

Li Li
for contributions to the design of algorithms and protocols for wireless networks

Ying-Dar Lin
for contributions to multi-hop cellular communications and deep packet inspection

Tamas Linder
for contributions to source coding and quantization

Danilo Mandic
for contributions to multivariate and nonlinear learning systems

Arthur Morris
for development and commercialization of CMOS radio frequency micro electro-mechanical systems

Eiji Oki
for contributions to high-performance packet switching and path computation technologies

Constantinos Papadias
for contributions to signal processing and coding for multi-antenna wireless systems

Daniel Palomar
for contributions to convex optimization-based signal processing for communications

Takuro Sato
for contributions to W-CDMA cellular standardization

Erchin Serpedin
for contributions to synchronization of communication systems

L. Dennis Shapiro
for leadership in development and commercialization of personal emergency response systems

Gaurav Sharma
for contributions to electronic imaging and media security

Prashant Shenoy
for contributions to the design and analysis of distributed systems and computer networking

John Spargo
for leadership in superconducting electronics and related technologies

Masayuki Tanimoto
for contributions to the development of free-viewpoint television and its MPEG standard

Zhi (Gerry) Tian
for contributions to ultra-wideband wireless communications and localization

Michail Tsatsanis
for contributions to wireless and digital subscriber line communications

Gene Tsudik
for contributions to distributed systems security and privacy

Harish Viswanathan
for contributions to wireless communication systems

David Wetherall
for contributions to the design of flexible, robust, and secure networks

Dapeng Wu
for contributions to video communication and processing and wireless networking

Feng Wu
for contributions to visual data compression and communication

Tak-Shing Yum
for contributions to the architecture and resource management of communication networks

Ephraim Zehavi
for contributions to pragmatic coding and bit interleaving

Qing Zhao
for contributions to learning and decision theory in dynamic systems with applications to cognitive networking