Skip to main content
background image


IEEE Fellows Elevated as of 1 January 2014

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Only a select few IEEE members earn this prestigious honor.

Congratulations to the following Communications Society members for their election to the grade of Fellow of the IEEE. They now join company with a truly distinguished roster of colleagues.

Brice Achkir 
for contributions to diagnostics of physical layer design in gigabit digital transmission systems

Mohammad Alam 
for contributions to pattern recognition and high resolution image reconstruction

Kevin Almeroth 
for contributions to multicast communication, wireless networks, and educational technology

Chandrajit Bajaj 
for contributions to image processing, scientific visualization, and computational biology

E. Bert Basch
for advancing the deployment of fiber-optic communication systems in carrier networks

Elizabeth Belding 
for contributions to mobile and wireless networking and communication protocols

Randall Berry 
for contributions to resource allocation and interference management in wireless networks

Martin Buss 
for contributions to haptic telepresence systems and autonomous robots

Sunghyun Choi 
for contributions to development of wireless LAN protocols

Shuguang Cui 
for contributions to cognitive communications and energy efficient system design

Anand Dabak
for contributions to wireless and power-line communications

Sujit Dey 
for contributions to the design and testing of low-power systems and system-on-chips

Mischa Dohler 
for contributions to wireless machine-to-machine communication systems

Hector Fenech
for leadership in the definition of telecommunications satellite architectures and systems through innovation and technological exploitation

Robert Gilmore
for contributions to high-performance and low-power wireless portable communications devices

Vivek Goyal 
for contributions to information representations and their applications in acquisition, communication, and estimation

Yingjie Guo 
for contributions to smart, reconfigurable and high gain antennas for broadband wireless communications systems

Martin Haenggi 
for contributions to the spatial modeling and analysis of wireless networks

Zhu Han 
for contributions to resource allocation and security in wireless communications

Fred Heismann 
for contributions to understanding, control and mitigation of polarization effects in fiberoptic communication systems

Peter Hoeher 
for contributions to decoding and detection that include reliability information

Y. Thomas Hou
for contributions to modeling and optimization of wireless networks

Syed Jafar 
for contributions to analyzing the capacity of wireless communication networks

Krishna Kant 
for contributions to enterprise server performance , power management technologies and domain name system robustness

George Karagiannidis 
for contributions to the performance analysis of wireless communication systems

Ursula Keller
for contributions to ultrashort pulse modelocked laser physics and technology

Yu-Kwong Kwok
for contributions to resource scheduling algorithms in parallel and distributed systems

J. Nicholas Laneman
for contributions to multihop relaying and cooperative communication for wireless networks

Mingyan Liu
for contributions to modeling of wireless ad-hoc and sensor network

Angel Lozano 
for contributions to multiple-input, multiple-output antenna systems

William McFarland
for leadership in single-chip wifi radio systems-on-a-chip development

Paul Mockapetris 
for contributions to the design and implementation of the Internet Domain Name Systems

Katia Obraczka
for contributions to energy-efficient protocols and routing in wireless networks

Ioannis Paschalidis
for contributions to the control and optimization of communication and sensor networks, manufacturing systems, and biological systems

Balaji Sundar Rajan
for contributions to high performance and low complexity space-time code designs for wireless communication systems

Martin Reisslein
for contributions to the design and performance evaluation of metropolitan networks and multimedia networking mechanisms

Magdalena Salazar-Palma 
for contributions to the application of numerical techniques to electromagnetic modeling

Jong-Soo Seo
for contributions to digital multimedia and mobile broadcasting technologies

Sanjay Shakkottai 
for contributions to the modeling, design, and analysis of wireless networks

Puneet Sharma 
for contributions to the design of scalable networking, software defined networks and energy efficiency in data centers

Raghupathy Sivakumar 
for contributions to the design of algorithms and protocols for wireless networking and mobile computing

Krishna Sivalingam 
for contributions to medium access control and energy-efficient protocol design in communication networks

Sandeep Shukla 
for contributions to applied probablistic model checking for system design

Emina Soljanin
for contributions to coding theory and coding schemes for transmission and storage systems

Anthony Soong 
for contributions to the standardization of cellular communication systems

Senichi Suzuki 
for contributions to high-density integrated silica-based planar lightwave circuits for optical Communications

Patrick Thiran 
for contributions to network performance analysis

Wen Tong
for leadership in the development of 3G and 4G wireless communication systems

Elie Track 
for leadership in superconducting electronics and its applications

Wade Trappe 
for contributions to information and communication security

Sarah Kate Wilson
for contributions to orthogonal frequency division multiplexing

Wei Yu
for contributions to optimization techniques for multiple-input-multiple-output communications

Shengli Zhou
for contributions to wireless and underwater acoustic communications

Yongguang Zhang
for contributions to software radio technology

Wei-Xing Zheng 
for contributions to signal processing and system identification