Skip to main content
Publications lead hero image abstract pattern


Publication Date

First Quarter 2020

Manuscript Submission Deadline


Call for Papers

The electric grid is an ecosystem of asset owners, manufacturers, service providers, and system operators, all working together to run one of the most reliable systems in the world. The Smart Grid represents an unprecedented opportunity to move the electric grid into a new era of reliability, availability, and efficiency that will contribute to our economic and environmental health. The ongoing digitalization, e.g. deployment of advanced metering infrastructure (AMI) and phasor measurement units (PMUs) as well as intelligent automation systems is drastically increasing the amount, quality, and variety of data that utilities and grid operators are collecting on supply, transmission, distribution, and demand. Sensing, computing, and disseminating these data are essential for the modernization of the grid. As such, communication and data analytics are two fundamental pillars of the Smart Grid.

This special issue solicits original research papers focused on Communications and Data Analytics for

  • Smart Metering, Demand Response and Dynamic Pricing
  • Energy Storage and Electric Vehicles
  • Active Distribution Grids and Microgrids
  • Cyber Security, Privacy, and Resilience for Smart Grids
  • Transactive Energy
  • Energy Internet and Energy System Integration
  • Distribution and Transmission Synchrophasor Networks

Submission Guidelines

All submissions have to be prepared according to the Information for Authors as published in the Journal website and must be submitted via EDAS.

Important Dates

Manuscript Due: 7 June 2019 (New Deadline)
Acceptance Notification: 1 October 2019
Final Manuscript Due: 15 October 2019
Expected Publication: First Quarter 2020

Guest Editors

Yingjun Angela Zhang
The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Hans-Peter Schwefel
GridData GmbH, Germany, & Aalborg University, Denmark

Hamed Mohsenian-Rad
University of California at Riverside, USA

Christian Wietfeld
TU Dortmund, Germany

Chen Chen
Argonne National Laboratory, USA

Hamid Gharavi
National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA