Skip to main content
Sergio Benedetto Photo
IEEE Division III Director

Sergio Benedetto is a professor at Politecnico di Torino. Active for more than 30 years in the field of digital communications, he has coauthored 4 books and over 250 papers. He has received the "Premio Siemens per le Telecomunicazioni" in 1973, the "Premio Bianchi" of AEI in 1974, the "Premio Bonavera" in 1976, the "Gold Medal Award of Siemens Telecomunicazioni" in 1993 and 1995, the "Italgas International Prize for Research and Technological Innovation" in 1998, the “Cristoforo Colombo International Award for Communications” in 2006, and the “IEEE Communications Society Edwin Howard Armstrong Award” in 2008. He has been Chair of the Communication Theory Technical Committee, was TP Chair of the Communication Theory Symposium at ICC 2000 and ICC 2006, and General Chair of the Communication Theory Workshop in 2004. An IEEE Fellow, Sergio has been Area Editor for IEEE Transactions on Communications and a Distinguished Lecturer of ComSoc. He has been Vice President of Technical Activities of ComSoc in 2006-2007, Vice-President for Publication in 2008-2009, and is now Vice President for Member Relations. In 2012 he has been elected to the position of President-Elect of the Communications Society. He is member of the Turin Academy of Sciences.

Sergio Benedetto is presently a member of the Board of Directors of ANVUR, the Italian Agency for the Evaluation of Italian Universities and Research Centers. S. Benedetto has been a member of the Board of Directors of Politecnico di Torino, of Istituto Elettrotecnico Nazionale Galileo Ferraris, and of Istituto Superiore for the ICT Mario Boella. He leads the Regional Technical Committee in charge of choosing innovative industrial projects to be funded by the Regional Law 56.