Skip to main content
Shiwen Mao
Director, Technical Committees

Shiwen Mao received a Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Polytechnic University in 2004. In 2006, he joined Auburn University, Auburn, AL as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. He held the McWane Endowed Professorship (2012-2015) and the Samuel Ginn Endowed Professorship (2015-2020), and is a Professor and Earle C. Williams Eminent Scholar, and Director of the Wireless Engineering Research and Education Center (WEREC) at Auburn University.

Dr. Mao's research interest includes wireless networks, multimedia communications, and smart grid. He is a Distinguished Lecturer of IEEE Communications Society (ComSoc, 2021-2023), IEEE Council of RFID (2021-2023), and IEEE Vehicular Technology Society (VTS, 2014-2018), and a Distinguished Speaker of IEEE VTS (2018-2021). He received the IEEE ComSoc MMTC Outstanding Researcher Award in 2023, the SEC 2023 Faculty Achievement Award for Auburn, the IEEE ComSoc TC-CSR Distinguished Technical Achievement Award in 2019, the Auburn University Creative Research & Scholarship Award in 2018, the NSF CAREER Award in 2010, and several service awards from IEEE ComSoc. He is a co-recipient of the 2022 Best Journal Paper Award of IEEE ComSoc eHealth Technical Committee (TC), the 2021 Best Paper Award of Elsevier/KeAi Digital Communications and Networks Journal, the 2021 IEEE Internet of Things Journal Best Paper Award, the 2021 IEEE Communications Society Outstanding Paper Award, the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society 2020 Jack Neubauer Memorial Award, the 2018 Best Journal Paper Award and the 2017 Best Conference Paper Award from IEEE ComSoc Multimedia TC, and the 2004 IEEE Communications Society Leonard G. Abraham Prize in the Field of Communications Systems. He is a co-recipient of the Best Paper Awards from IEEE ICC 2022 and 2013, IEEE GLOBECOM 2023, 2019, 2016, and 2015, and IEEE WCNC 2015, and the Best Demo Awards from IEEE INFOCOM 2022 and IEEE SECON 2017. He is the Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Cognitive Communications and Networking. He was the General Chair of IEEE INFOCOM 2022, TPC Chair of IEEE INFOCOM 2018, TPC Vice Chair of IEEE INFOCOM 2015, and TPC Vice-Chair of IEEE GLOBECOM 2022. He is a Fellow of IEEE.