Skip to main content
Wahab Almuhtadi
Director, North America Region

Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng, SMIEEE, EIC Fellow has over 22 years of university and college teaching experience and over 27 year experience in R&D and engineering industries. He is a professor and coordinator of Algonquin College/Carleton University Joint Degree Program “Bachelor of Information Technology/BIT-PLT”. He’s also R&D Coordinator at Algonquin Faculty of Technology and Trades. Prior to that, he worked with Nortel as Team Leader and Senior System Engineer in Optical Solutions R&D. Dr. Almuhtadi proves remarkable leadership with his strong background in high technology and engineering industry helped the College to become a Polytechnic Institution. He is Algonquin Applied Research founder leading to $10.5M funded from various Canadian agencies, and founder/designer of $5M leading-edge Optophotonics Lab/Optical Transport Network-OTN 0.15-100Gbps. He is one of the founders of “Centre of Excellence in Next Generation Networks-CENGN,” with $65M funding. As a senior researcher, his research projects include, for example: QoS Optimization using Adaptive Intelligence Techniques in Satellite Systems ($2.8 M); Remote Objective Monitoring of Bio-Signals (ROMOBS) ($0.4 M); Remote/Rural WiFi Networks ($100k); Traffic Engineering in WiMAX Mobile Networks ($300k); Traffic Engineering in WiMAX Fixed Networks ($311k); Mesh Network Multipathing/Communications Handset-Relaying Prototype ($300k); CT Wireless for Commercial Building Electrical Panels ($100k); IEEE Humanitarian Wireless WiFi Project for Latin America ($25K) and among others. Dr. Almuhtadi is an author of several technical papers and co-author of books.

Over 24 years of IEEE service, He has been actively engaged as a volunteer serving in several posts that he held throughout all IEEE levels. Currently, ComSoc-North America Board Director (2018-2019), 2018 IEEE President-Elect/2019-2020 IEEE President of IEEE Consumer Electronics Society (CESoc)Vice President, Education, IEEE Consumer Electronics Society-CESoc (2017-2018), Chair, Publications and Communications Group-IEEE Canada-R7 (2017-present), Director, IEEE Canadian Foundation Committee (2013-present), Chair, ComSoc/CESoc/BTS Ottawa Joint Chapter (2008-present). He chaired and organized more than 29 conferences. He is the Executive Chair of the IEEE ICC 2021-Montreal, and he was the Executive Chair of IEEE ICC 2012-Ottawa. In 2008-2017, he served as the IEEE ComSoc Canada Representative, and Information Technology Coordinator, ComSoc North America Board.

He received several recognition awards from IEEE, academia and industry, to name few: IEEE 2010 Leadership Award for Distinguished Leadership and Outstanding Contribution as a Leader at the Section and Regional Levels, Serving IEEE for the Benefit of Its Members and the Engineering Profession, 2013 IEEE Canada W.R. Service Award, 2009 Teaching Excellence-Algonquin College Laurent Isabelle Award-, NISOD Award-2006, and 2015Engineering Institute Of Canada (EIC) Canadian Pacific Railway Medal.