Skip to main content
Yuguang (Michael) Fang
Director, Magazines

Yuguang Fang (F'08) received an MS degree from Qufu Normal University, Shandong, China in 1987, a PhD degree from Case Western Reserve University in 1994, and a PhD degree from Boston University in 1997. He joined the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at University of Florida in 2000 and has been a full professor since 2005. He holds a University of Florida Research Foundation (UFRF) Professorship (2017-2020, 2006-2009), University of Florida Term Professorship (2017-2019), a Changjiang Scholar Chair Professorship (Xidian University, Xi’an, China, 2008-2011; Dalian Maritime University, Dalian, China, 2015-2018), Overseas Adviser, School of Information Science and Technology, Southwest Jiao Tong University, Chengdu, China (2014-present), and Overseas Academic Master (Dalian University of Technology, Dalian, China, 2016-2018).

Dr. Fang received the US National Science Foundation Career Award in 2001, the Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award in 2002, the 2015 IEEE Communications Society CISTC Technical Recognition Award, the 2014 IEEE Communications Society WTC Recognition Award, and the Best Paper Award from IEEE ICNP (2006). He has also received a 2010-2011 UF Doctoral Dissertation Advisor/Mentoring Award, a 2011 Florida Blue Key/UF Homecoming Distinguished Faculty Award, and the 2009 UF College of Engineering Faculty Mentoring Award. He was the Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology (2013-2017), the Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Wireless Communications (2009-2012), and serves/served on several editorial boards of journals including Proceedings of the IEEE (2018-present), ACM Computing Surveys (2017-present), IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing (2003-2008, 2011-2016), IEEE Transactions on Communications (2000-2011), and IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications (2002-2009). He has been actively participating in conference organizations such as serving as the Technical Program Co-Chair for IEEE INFOCOM’2014 and the Technical Program Vice-Chair for IEEE INFOCOM'2005. He is a fellow of the IEEE and a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).