Skip to main content
abstract blue background

About ComSoc

Plaque, certificate, and honorarium of US$2,000.

Recognizes an industry executive whose leadership has resulted in major and outstanding advances and new directions in the information and communications business.

An information or communications industry executive who has played a major leadership role in research or development and the introduction of systems, devices, applications or services that have significantly impacted the communications and information markets on a global basis. The candidate must show that he or she has substantially advanced the use of information and communication technologies in industry, commerce, and society. The candidate is not required to be an IEEE member.

Selection Criteria and Basis for Judging
Executive leadership resulting in major advances and new directions in the information and communications business area.  Evaluation is based on factors such as the global acceptance of products and services, financial success and growth of the business, ubiquity of the products and services, emulation of the contributions by the competition, and the degree of the candidate's global recognition.  Other selection criteria include time of service, impact, and specific innovations.

Nomination/Selection Process
Nominations will be solicited each year, up to the nominations deadline decided by the Awards Committee.  Nominations will be openly solicited however, nominations would also be received from a Nominations Committee appointed by the President of the IEEE Communications Society.

The award will be presented at a major IEEE Communications Society annual conference or venue appropriate to the business area of the recipient. The award will not be conferred in any given year if a suitable candidate is not identified. The award will be given annually (as appropriate) and no more than two awards will be given per year.

Administration and Funding
The IEEE Communications Society will administer the award covered out of annual Society operations budget.

Nominations due 15 February and 1 September.

2019 Award Recipient

"For his extraordinary achievements in applied communication technology in IP networking and 5G delivering world’s first true converged network and fastest 5G speeds; in concert of living the IEEE values by applying security and privacy by design into communications and delivering a global health exchange solution for better health outcomes."

Ibrahim J. Gedeon
Ibrahim J. Gedeon, TELUS

Ibrahim Gedeon is one of the global telecommunications industry’s eminent thought leaders. He has carved out an international career by combining tremendous insight and skill as an applied scientist with a lighthearted and non-conventional approach to leadership. As Chief Technology Officer for TELUS, a leading national telecommunications company in Canada, he is responsible for all technology development and strategy, security, service and network architecture, service delivery and operational support systems, as well as service and network convergence, and network infrastructure strategies and evolution. Under his leadership the TELUS wireless broadband network has become one of the best in the world.

Within industry Ibrahim has held leadership roles and chaired many events in the IEEE and received the IEEE Canada's Outstanding Canadian Engineer Award in 2001. He serves on the board of the Next Generation Mobile Networks Alliance, the Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions and the Institute for Communication Technology Management. He has a Bachelor's degree in Electrical Engineering from the American University of Beirut and a Master’s in Electronics Engineering from Carleton University. In 2010, Ibrahim received a Honourary Doctor of Laws degree from the University of British Columbia. In 2014, he was elected as a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) in recognition of his significant contributions to the field of engineering. He has been named five times to the Global Telecoms Business magazine’s GTB Power 100, a list of the 100 most powerful and influential people in the telecoms industry.


2018 - Wen Tong
2017 - Zhengmao Li
2016 - Jong-Kyun Shin 
- Paul Jacobs
2014 - Eros Spadotto
2013 No Award 
 - Janusz Filipiak, Niklas Zennström, and Janus Friis 
2011 No Award
2010 - Suk-Chae Lee

2009 - Kaoru Yano
2008 No Award
2007 - Arun Sarin
2006 - Henry Samueli
2005 - No Award
2004 - Ki Tae Lee and Irwin M. Jacobs 
2003 - Jorma Ollila
2002 - John T. Chambers
2001 - Keiji Tachikawa